Skip to main content

BIOL 665: Home

A guide to help students of BIOL 665 with their research.

Finding Journal Articles at CSULB

The first step in finding scholarly/peer reviewed articles for research is to use a database to find citations of articles that are on your topic. Online databases are listings of articles published in a particular set of journals.
Keep in mind that for academic research you want to stick with scholarly articles published in journals like Advances in Nursing Science as opposed to news type articles in magazines like Newsweek. Some databases will even allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles, also called peer-reviewed, juried, or refereed articles, by checking a box.

Once you have selected a database, use keywords to find articles on your topic.  Think of as many words as you can that might appear in articles on your topic.  Try different combinations of these words to see how your list of results changes until you find articles on the results page that look interesting to you.

After you have found citations for articles that seem relevant to your topic you can decide if they are relevant (articles you want) by looking at titles and abstracts (short summaries of the articles) in the database citation.

For finding the "oldest" article

Finding the oldest article on a topic can be difficult.  Keep in mind that the database you use needs to:

  • Cover the years you need
  • Cover the topic you need (index major journals in your area)

If you know a key researcher in your field, you can try an author search.

Once you've found your modern and/or seminal article, look for the oldest cited article in that paper.

For finding the "Seminal" article

Setting Google Scholar Library Links

When using Google Scholar at home, go to Scholar Preferences, library links, and search for and select CSULB.  Now in your search results you will have GetIt@CSULB links to access CSULB subscriptions for full-text articles.  See this how-to video for more info.