Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions: Articles
How do I find journal articles?
Go to the Library homepage: www.csulb.edu/library. Click databases by topic. Choose the appropriate topic, i.e. Psychology, and choose a database to search. Right next to the database title is an icon that will give you more information about what is in that database. It also includes a link for Help.
Enter in keywords for your topic and you will get a list of articles matching your search. Depending on the database you choose, your list of articles will either include a link to the full text of the article or a button labeled, Get it @ CSULB which will take you either to the full text or a link where you can order the article.
Can I find articles using OneSearch?
How do I get the full-text of articles?
There are several possibilities for finding the full text of an article. Sometimes the article is available in the database itself. There can be a link to PDF, or html, or both. If that link is not available, try clicking the Get it @ CSULB button. This searches all of our subscriptions to see if we subscribe to that journal. It will open a window and provide links to the online version if available, or to the COAST catalog it we have it in print. It may also provide a link to our interlibrary loan service if it is a journal we do not subscribe to. You can search COAST to see if we subscribe to the journal in print or online. Print journals are generally located on the lower level (most recent issues) or in ORCA (older bound issues). ORCA volumes can be requested through the COAST catalog, and picked up at the front desk.
How can I find the full-text of an article I found on Google Scholar?
To find Google Scholar articles when you are ON campus, you should find a Get it @ CSULB button to the right. Click that to see if CSULB subscribes to the article. If you are NOT ON campus you can 1. Search COAST for a CSULB subscription by doing a journal title search and typing in the JOURNAL TITLE. Check the year you are looking for to see if CSULB has access. Or 2. Set your Google Scholar preferences to include CSULB links, then Get it @ CSULB will appear on your Google Scholar results pages.
What is a primary article?
In the SCIENCES: A primary source is a publication that reports the results of original scientific research. Primary sources generally include scientific journal articles reporting experimental research results.
For HISTORY or the HUMANITIES: A primary document, (or primary source) is usually something written down at the time of an event or shortly thereafter. It can be produced by someone who was part of the event, or witnessed it. Written primary documents can take the form of newspaper accounts, diaries, letters, personal narratives, oral histories, autobiographies, transcripts, or government documents written at the time of, or near to an event. Non-written primary sources can be historical artifacts, maps, musical scores, photographs, films, art works, audio recordings, audio interviews, calendars and mementos.
What is a "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly" journal?
A "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly" article has gone through a particular editorial process. The editorial process consists of a panel of experts (usually 3) reading through the article and concluding the research was done correctly and the information is accurate. Scholarly articles usually are longer than 5 pages, have no advertisements, and have bibliographies at the end. To find out if a journal is peer reviewed you can check the information in the database, or look at the journal's website. Some databases include a limit, where clicking a button will remove results not from scholarly journals. Academic Search Complete is a database that does this.
What is BeachReach?
BeachReach is a service provided by the University Library for getting articles that CSULB does not subscribe to. Articles are typically delivered electronically.
How do I access an article on reserve?
Reserves are items professors have selected for use by students in a particular class. E-reserves can be accessed using the name of the class and the password provided by your professor. Physical items are held on the first floor of the library, either behind the circulation desk, or behind the reference desk. Find the item in COAST to discover where it is.
Where can I get help finding articles?