Skip to main content

Honors Program: STEM: Home

UHP 496 and 498 for STEM students

Quick Links

University Library

NEW Off-Campus Access (via your Campus ID and password)

NEW My Library Account  (via your Campus ID and password)

Help with Research

Databases by Title

Journal by Title

Journal articles by DOI

BeachReach   (Info on Interlibrary Services - Link + currently unavailable)    

Refworks

Reserves

 

Research & Publication Cycle

This diagram, "Scientific Literature" by K. Subramanyam (p.394) originated from Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science (New York, 1979, Allan Kent and Harold Lancour, eds.).  A copy of the diagram can be found at http://www.unm.edu/~unmvclib/handouts/scienceresearchpublication.jpeg

Engineering Librarian

Hema Ramachandran's picture
Hema Ramachandran
Contact:
Due to a family emergency, I will be away the rest of the Fall 2017 semester. For immediate assistance please use https://csulb.libanswers.com/
I will be checking email sporadically.

Terms

Database

Citation

Abstract

Call Number

Peer Reviewed

Journal

DOI

Cited Reference Search

Database -searchable list of article titles and abstracts

Citation - identifying information of an article (title, author, etc.)

Abstract - summary of an article found at the beginning and in databases

Call Number - Number of the spine of a book or journal determining its place on the shelf

Peer Reviewed - A premium quality journal article that has been reviewed by others knowledgeable in the field prior to publication

Journal - a published collection of articles (previously in print, now frequently online only)

DOI (Digital Object Identifier): a unique identifier for an object such as an online article or technical report.

Cited Reference Searching - Find other scholarly sources that reference the citation.

 

Loading

Evaluating quality of journals