American Studies: American Studies 300

American Studies 300
Library Resources (Fall 2017)
Chloé Pascual, History Librarian, chloe.pascual@csulb.edu

UNIVERSITY LIBRARY PAGE has an overview of research services available in the library

SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS and REFERENCE MATERIAL use these if you want to "go beyond wikipedia"

American Decades. 10 vols, print. Gale, 2001.

 

American Decades: Primary Sources. Online Encyclopedia 2004.

 

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy Online encyclopedia. Scribner, c2002

 

Encyclopedia of American Immigration 4 print vols. M.E. Sharpe, c2001.

 

Encyclopedia of American Studies 4 print vols. Grolier Educational, 2001.

 

Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America. 2 print vols. Scribner & Sons, 2004.

 

Encyclopedia of Religion in America. Online encyclopedia.CQ Press, 2010.

 

Encyclopedia of Law & Society : American and Global Perspectives 3 print vols.  Sage Publications, 2007.

 

Encyclopedia of the United States in the 19th Century. 3 vols. 2001.

 

Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations 4 print vols. Oxford University Press, 1997

 

Global Connections : America's Role In the 21st Century. 1 vol, print. CQ Press, c2002.

 

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Mulitethnic American Literature. 5 vols., print. Greenwood Press, 2005.

 

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Online Encyclopedia, 2013.

 

Violence in America: An Encyclopedia. 3 print vols. Scribners, 1999.

 

Women and Music in America Since 1900. 2 vols., print, Greenwood 2002.

 

FINDING BOOKS, DVDs, MAPS

 

OneSearch drop down to Books (CSULB) Provides access to our 1.25 million University Library books, some over 500 years old.

 

For more relevant search results try using this OneSearch strategy to find subject words. The terms you search will be tagged for higher relevancy; they will be subject keywords. And you place an asterisk* at the end of the word, you will catch all word variants. So if you type in SPORT* you will get sport, sporting, sports, sportsman, etc, 

 

More examples: Combine these subject keyword strategies below with united states

 

national characteristics, american     national identity     self-perception     identity

 

Other subject strategies to consider:

united states and music* and culture*

united states  and  identity and history

More examples relating to cultural topics:

united states and rap

 

united states identity motion pictures

 

If you get results using any of the above techniques, you can get even more items at other CSU campuses by selecting Books (all CSU)

BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

• BeachReach to get journal articles that we don't own or have online delivered to your e-mail
• CSU+ To rapidly get books from other libraries that we don’t have or that are out
• These two loaning services are described here

• World History
• U.S. History
• Primary History Sources

RETROSPECTIVE (HISTORIC FULL-TEXT) ARTICLE DATABASE

• American Periodicals 1700-1940 Covers historical magazines and journals.
• America's Historical Imprints 1620-1820 Books, pamphlets, advertisements published between 1620 and 1820.
• America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1876
• Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
• Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
• Historical Chicago Defender 1905-1975 An African American Newspaper
• Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1992 Full text online coverage of the L.A.T.
• Historical New York Times, 1851-2012 Full text online coverage of the N.Y.T.
• Humanities and Social Science Index Retropsective, 1900-1983 Covers scholarly articles.
• JSTOR Online Journal Archive A full text archive of core scholarly journal literature in the social sciences and humanities dating back to the 1850s​
• Readers' Guide Retrospective 1900-1983 Covers popular magazines.
• Times (of London) Historical Archive, 1785- 2006 (Excludes Sunday Times)
• Google News Archive Contains full text facsimile newspapers from teh 1800s from newspapers across America.

CURRENT RESEARCH DATABASES

 

To find the articles in databases, look for the SFX link in each citation. It may look like this     It is a shortcut to the article online. If we don’t have the article in the building, or online use BeachReach To rapidly get journal articles we don’t have, from other libraries.

 

• Academic Search Complete Accesses nearly 6000 journals. Provides comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage 1990 to date.
• America History & Life (for U.S. History) The premier periodical indexes for scholarly research in history. Article citations go back to the 1950s.
• Anthropology Plus  Covers American anthropology research.
• Art Full Text Research on the arts.
• ATLA Religious Studies Research articles on religion, faith, etc.
• Dissertations and Theses Provides full text PhD dissertations from across the U.S.
• ERIC Educational research, teachers, curriculum, schools
• GenderWatch  Women's Studies, gender studies, feminism.
• JSTOR Huge archive of scholarly journals on all subjects.
• MLA International Bibliography Research on fiction, poetry, writing, literature.
• Music Index Research in all forms of music.
• Philosophers Index Research in philosophy.
• Project Muse  Scholarly full text journals in a wide range of humanities and social sciences
• Sport Discus Sports, exercise, physical education.

CITING HISTORICAL MATERIALS, STYLES SEARCH ENGINES

Citation Help Libguide

GOOGLE TECHNQIUES AND TIPS

To find types of domains: type in

• site:edu (to find sites located at colleges, universities)
• site:org (to find sites at nonprofit organizations)
• site:gov (to find government sites, government documents)
• site:int (to find international organizations, UN-type)
• site:ru (stands for Russia. Use two letter country codes for domains in a country.
• Use this link to identify two letter country codes

Search Tips

• In GOOGLE searches place “phrases in quotes” to force word adjacency
• Use OR (capitalized) to find synonyms (presidents OR prime ministers OR premiers)
• Use domain stems (site:edu; site:org) to find sites in specific Internet realms
• Truncation symbols (e.g. the asterisk*) does not work in GOOGLE

Use GOOGLE SCHOLAR  to find scholarly journal articles. If you do this on campus, you may be able to link to full text articles we subscribe to online.

GOOGLE BOOKS may allow you to read chapters of selected books. To find the full book, check OneSearch or CSU+