Skip to main content

Engineering Summer Academy (BESST): Home

Beach Engineering Student Success Team (BESST)

Have to write a research paper?   Don’t panic! 

DO NOT reach for Google but  DO REACH for the CSULB Library’s home page!  We have a LOT of authoritative, credible sources for you that will save you time to find relevant resources on any topic!

 

Library Lingo

Reference

Reserve

Call number

Database

Citation

Abstract

Peer Reviewed

Journal

Reference - Encyclopedias etc. that cannot be checked out

Reserve -  Books and other items for courses selected by instructors

Call Number - Number on the spine of a book or journal determining its place on the shelf

Database -searchable list of article titles and abstracts

Citation - identifying information of an article (title, author, etc.)

Abstract - summary of an article found at the beginning and in databases

Peer Reviewed - A premium quality journal article that has been reviewed by others knowledgeable in the field prior to publication

Journal - a published collection of articles (previously in print, now frequently online only)

Loading ...

Quick quiz

Which resource do you use to find books in the Library?
Compendex: 2 votes (4.88%)
OneSearch: 32 votes (78.05%)
AIAA Library: 5 votes (12.2%)
Web of Science: 2 votes (4.88%)
Total Votes: 41
Which is the main database for engineering?
ASTM: 4 votes (11.11%)
Web of Science: 3 votes (8.33%)
ERIC: 4 votes (11.11%)
Compendex: 25 votes (69.44%)
Total Votes: 36
Help! I have to write a short paper on an engineering topic overnight! I only need a few, good scholarly references. What should I use?
ASM Micrographs Database: 3 votes (6.82%)
OneSearch: 28 votes (63.64%)
Compendex: 12 votes (27.27%)
IEEE Xplore: 1 votes (2.27%)
Total Votes: 44

Engineering Librarian

Hema Ramachandran's picture
Hema Ramachandran
Contact:
EN2-109
Fall 2019/Spring 2020
Office Hours
Wed 2-5:30pm
Thurs 2-5:30pm
and by appt.
SORRY NO OFFICE HOURS on 10/16
"Drop-in" and/or send me an email message to alert me.
If these times don't work for you, please send me an email for an appointment..