These Internet sites may be of particular interest to students and faculty in EDUCATION.
BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ASIAN AND PACIFIC ISLANDER AMERICAN LITERATURE
This bibliography which is arranged alphabetically by ethnicity lists books for school age children.
CALIFORNIA POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION COMMISSION
This "portal to higher education in California" will provide with links to numerous sites including statistics and policies related to higher education in California.
CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
The California State Board of Education page offers direct links to the K-12 standards used in California.
CHILDREN'S LITERATURE WEB GUIDE
The Children's Literature Web Guide is an attempt to gather and categorize the growing number of Internet resources related to books for children and young adults.
CURRICULUM FRAMEWORKS AND INSTRUCTIONAL RESOURCES
Curriculum frameworks are the blueprint for implementing grade level content standards adopted by the California State Board of Education. Frameworks are developed by the Curriculum Development and Supplemental Materials Commission, which also reviews and recommends textbooks and other instructional materials to be adopted by the State Board.
DISTANCE EDUCATION CLEARINGHOUSE
Provided by the University of Wisconsin this site provides information and links to sites related to distance education.
EDUCATION INDEX
Education Index is an annotated guide to a variety of educationally related websites. Searching can be done by subject or lifestage (e.g. prenatal, preschool).
EDUCATIONAL PSYCHOLOGY
Designed by Librarian Tiffini Travis this web page contains lots of useful links for information specifically focusing on educational psychology and related fields.
EDUCATOR'S REFERENCE DESK
The Educator's Reference Desk acts as a clearinghouse to information on lesson plans, resource guides and provides a link to searching the ERIC database.
ERIC - EDUCATION RESOURCES INFORMATION CENTER
This site will lead you to the ERIC database at the ERIC Document Reproduction Service.
FEDERAL RESOURCES FOR EDUCATIONAL EXCELLENCE (FREE)
FREE provides access to hundreds of INTERNET based education resources including teaching activities for all grade levels and a variety of subjects.
FINANCIAL AID FOR STUDENTS
The Financial Aid for Students page gives users information regarding federal programs of financial aid as well as links to "news and highlights."
INTERNATIONAL LITERACY ASSOCIATION
Each year, thousands of children, young adults, teachers, and librarians around the United States select their K-12 favorite recently published books for the “Choices” reading lists: the Children’s Choices is cosponsored by the Children’s Book Council. The list includes brief reviews of approximately 100 titles, each of which has been recommended by children themselves; the Teachers’ Choices identifies approximately 30 books rated by teams of teachers, librarians, and reading specialists as outstanding for curriculum use; and the Young Adults’ Choices provides descriptions of approximately 30 books selected by teenage reviewers.
NATIONAL ACADEMIES PRESS
National Academies Press offers links to the full text editions of college education texts.
NATIONAL READING PANEL (NRP)
The National Reading Panel (NRP) was a United States government body. Formed in 1997 at the request of Congress, it was a national panel with the stated aim of assessing the effectiveness of different approaches used to teach children to read. The panel was created by Director of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) at the National Institutes of Health, in consultation with the Secretary of Education, and included prominent experts in the fields of reading education, psychology, and higher education.
NOTABLE BOOKS FOR A GLOBAL SOCIETY (NGBS)
Excellent site for multicultural K-12 literature. Annually, a committee of the CL/R SIG (Children’s Literature and Reading Special Interest Group) of the International Reading Association selects 25 outstanding trade books for enhancing student understanding of people and cultures throughout the world. The committee reviews books representing all genres intended for students K-12.
RECOMMENDED LITERATURE: KINDERGARTEN THROUGH GRADE 12
This web page which resides on the California Department of Education web site provides a list of the over 2,000 books recommended for school children of all ages. In addition to a searchable database, the site also gives links for "standards," "literary genres" and "awards."
SCIENCE EDUCATION
This page was designed by the CSULB Science Education Librarian. It focuses specifically on helpful information for science teachers.
SOURCES FOR NATIONAL EDUCATION STANDARDS
The "Sources for National Education Standards" provides multiple links for finding standards in individual states as well as links to a variety of subjects.
SPECIAL EDUCATION RESOURCES ON THE INTERNET (SERI)
Special Education Resources on the Internet (SERI) is a collection of Internet accessible information resources of interest to those involved in the fields related to Special Education.