Banner Image

Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, & Utopian Literature & Media: Masback SF Collection

The Charles E. Masback Science Fiction Collection

Location:  The CSULB Library's Masback Science Fiction Collection is housed in Library 3rd floor Reading Room.

The Collection:  The Masback Science Fiction Collection contains paperback copies of science fiction, fantasy, and horror novels and short story collections. There are more than 3000 titles in the collection. Additional  Masback volumes may be housed in the Library's ORCA storage system due to space limitations in the reading room collection, and some science fiction and fantasy text and video materials are found elsewhere in the Library's collections.  All volumes are fully cataloged in COAST, the library's online catalog and are available for loan.

Origin:  The collection, a memorial to Charles E. Masback, CSULB graduate, was established by his father Frederic J. Masback (Professor Emeritus of English), and his late wife Leona. Dr. Masback and his family and friends continue to support the maintenance and growth of the collection.

Supporting the Collection:  Books are also added to the Masback Science Fiction Collection through gifts and other donations. If you wish to donate to this collection, please contact: the Library's Collection Development Officer, Carol Perruso: Carol.Perruso@csulb.edu or (562) 985-5735 .   Further information on donating funds or offering materials may be found at:  http://www.csulb.edu/library/donors/giving.html.