Banner Image

Kinesiology/Physical Education: Find Articles / Databases

Keys to Your Success

Research is a multistep process

Research may be very interdisciplinary

Think broadly; then narrow the focus

Keep a record of your sources

Research Tips

IDENTIFY YOUR TOPIC

Identify key concepts (keywords, synonyms, subject headings)

IDENTIFY YOUR SOURCES

Identify your information sources (books, journal articles, news, encyclopedias) 

REFINE YOUR SEARCHES

Create search statements using Boolean Operators:

Use AND between different key terms to narrow a search i.e., athletes AND doping 

Use OR between synonym key terms to broaden a search i.e., colleges OR universities

Use truncation symbols (*) to retrieve multiple variations of a word i.e., athlet* retrieves athlete, athletes, athletic, athletics

Use "phrase searching" to search for words in the order they appear i.e., "student athletes"


Getting the Full Text of an Article

Looking for Full-Text?

One of the following buttons appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo):

Click the button to search all of CSULB's subscriptions for full text of your article.

For more information, click here.

Not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through BeachReach to get full-text of any article. 

You can get to BeachReach from the Get it @CSULB box when you are searching in the databases!

Need more information on BeachReach?  Visit our Interlibrary Services page.

Journals in Kinesiology

POPULAR vs. SCHOLARLY PUBLICATIONS:

Popular Sources are designed for the general population. They are typically written by a non-expert through the use of secondary sources and whose crediibility can be limited. Examples include: Sports Illustrated, The Sporting News, Time Magazine.

Scholarly or Academic journals  report original scientific research. Submitted articles are usually peer-reviewed by a panel of experts and scholars in the field. Examples include Journal of Sport Management, Journal of Sports Economics, Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology.

 

Location of Periodicals:

Current journals - Lower Level

Older (bound) - ORCA

Online via Databases

 

Google Scholar

 

 

Retrieve scholarly and peer-reviewed citations on any subject.

Tip: Use “Cited by” and “Related articles” to find additional articles.

If you are on campus, click on Get it! @CSULB. If the full text article is not available or free, check to see if the Library owns it or use Citation Linker (and if not use BeachReach).  

Finding a Specific Article

Citation Linker allows you to enter your citation and find out whether or not the CSULB University Library provides full text. To use CitationLinker you must know the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper the article is in (e.g. Journal of Research in Reading, The Reading Teacher). You will need to enter as much information (article title, journal, author, year of publication, volume, issue, page numbers) as possible, and Citation Linker will search our databases to see if we have a print or electronic copy of the article.     

Getting the Full Text of an Article

Looking for Full-Text?

One of the following buttons appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo):

Click the button to search all of CSULB's subscriptions for full text of your article.

For more information, click here.

Not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through BeachReach to get full-text of any article. 

You can get to BeachReach from the Get it @CSULB box when you are searching in the databases!

Need more information on BeachReach?  Visit our Interlibrary Services page.

Need to Locate a Specific Journal?

Enter the name of the journal (NOT the title of the article) in the COAST "Journal Title Search" link.  Click submit. Look for the for the year of publication, volume, issue number, and page numbers to locate the desired article.    

Journal Title Search

Google Scholar

Retrieve scholarly and peer-reviewed citations on any subject.

Tip: Use “Cited by” and “Related articles” to find additional articles.

If you are on campus, click on Get it! @CSULB. If the full text article is not available or free, check to see if the Library owns it or use Citation Linker (and if not use BeachReach).