Research Guides: Health Care Administration: Find Articles / Databases

Academic Search Complete

A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Updated daily.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Coverage: 1937 to present.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.

IBISWorld

Limited to 30 downloads per session.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research reports covers about 680 U.S. industries written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance and outlook. These reports are written by industry specialists.
Each report is updated every 4 months.

Mergent Online

Summary company records and EDGAR files for over 11,000 U.S. public corporations and 17,000 non-US public companies.

Top Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Limited to 30 downloads per session.  Covers about 680 U.S. industries written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance and outlook. These reports are written by industry specialists. Each report is updated every 4 months.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's international bio-medicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage: 1951 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Summary company records and EDGAR files for over 11,000 U.S. public corporations and 17,000 non-US public companies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS® is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window Reports that provide an aggregate of a variety of data, mainly statistics. Search for data by industry, political issue, consumerism, companies or countries. The data reports provide sourcing information.
- This link opens in a new window

Also Useful

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit This link opens in a new window Abstracts that link to scholarly journals, book chapters, and dissertations on topics like accounting, economics, finance, international economics, labor, population forecasting, etc. 1969 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window A collection of viewpoints from various sources on social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, endangered species, to name a few. Includes relevant articles, encyclopedia entries and opinions for each topic covered.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window Articles in areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, like urbanism, transportation, police administration, recreation, housing, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Full-text to federal and state cases, statutes, regulations and administrative codes, as well as international law, law encyclopedias, and law reviews. Business news and company legal tax filing information.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Additional Resources

American Hospital Directory (currently only works on-campus) This link opens in a new window Provides online data (hospital financial information and utilization data) for over 6,000 hospitals.
- This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Provides critical reviews of over fifty science, medicine, and social science topics. Reviews include what is supported, what is controversial and presents historical context and highlights the major questions that remain. Some coverage back to 1932.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It is not a journal publisher. Access to PubMed Central (PMC) is free and unrestricted. The currency and age of material in PubMed Central varies by journal.
- This link opens in a new window

Health Care Administration