Research Guides: Philosophy: Find Articles / Databases

Start with These

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive, interdisciplinary database to full text scholarly and popular journal articles. Most full text content is of the 20th Century, but many articles earlier.
more...less...
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Paideia Project On-Line
Contains more than 900 philosophy papers from the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Covers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy & monitors more than 1,500 journals from 100+ countries: updated quarterly. Research dates back to 1940. Content includes journals, books, book chapters & book reviews. It monitors more than 1,500 journals from 100+ countries.
- This link opens in a new window

PhilPapers An "open access" comprehensive index of the research literature in philosophy. It trawls the internet and uses and large-scale crowd-sourcing to monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access sources. The site currently includes 1,799,017 research books and articles.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides the full-text electronic versions of more than 200 scholarly journals. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Also Useful

L'Année Philologique (Greek and Roman Antiquity) This link opens in a new window Includes 60 years of scholarship on Greco-Roman antiquity, covering history, religion, philosophy, archaeology, and literature. Spanning from the 2nd millennium BCE to the early Middle Ages.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English, covering topics in the social sciences & humanities. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Coverage: 1949 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Citing Your Journal or Book

You have several options to help you format your research using proper citation styles.

Many of our databases have citation formatting options:

1). When you get some results from a research database, look for a CITE link. It might show your article in one of several bibliographic formats.

2.) If you decide to e-mail the article, look for a CITATION FORMAT option. You may be able to e-mail all your results in a particular style.

See our Style Manual and Citation Methods Libguide, you can get lots of help there.

Consider using our REFWORKS Citation Management software. A good option if you are going to write a major research paper or preparing something for for publication.