Skip to main content

History Course Handouts: History 499 Popular Environmentalism

Handouts Used for Library Instruction in History Research

History 499 Library Instruction Handout

History 499

Popular Environmentalism, American Studies, Library Resources

Greg Armento (Fall 2017)

greg.armento@csulb.edu, 562-985-4367

 

For more research options, go to United States History Research Guide

FINDING HISTORY BOOKS

 

Use OneSearch Book Search to find books and media we have.

 

If you want higher relevancy in your results, try a OneSearch Subject Keyword Search for terms within a subject (or descriptor) heading, and will result in more highly relevant books. If you place an asterisk* at the end of the word, you will catch all word variants. So if you type in word*, it will find all subject headings using the terms: word or words or wordiness or wordy or wordsmith, etc.

 

Try some of these word combinations below in conjunction with an environmental issue such as "environmental degradation" or "environmental responsibility" or simply environment*

 

 

Using the words below MAY bring up primary sources in book form:

sources      personal narrative*     interview*      diaries      oral histor*       biograph*     correspondence      papers      letters

 

If you get results using any of the above techniques, also conduct the exact same search using CSU+ to find even more materials at nearby libraries.

KEY DATABASES TO USE (ONLINE AND PRINT)

Academic Search Complete (Comprehensive interdisciplinary access to nearly 3000 scholarly journals.

Agriculture and Environmental Science Database (For comprehensive coverage of environmental sciences since 1967).

Alt Press Watch 1970 to date Covers newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters of alternative press. May include perspectives complementing and challenging the mainstream media.  

American Periodical Series Online 1700-1940 Full text online scholarly and popular articles.

America’s Historical Imprints 1640-1830 Early American publications, books, broadsides and pamphlets, full text.

America's Historical Newspapers Online 1680-1870 (Full text newspapers from the late 1600s to mid 1800s).

Congressional Hearings 1824 - 2003. Full text .hearings, testimony, interviews used in preparation for Congressional action, laws, resolutions.

Dissertations and Theses (Full text access to book length PhD writings. Good for original research.)

Global Newsstream Thousands of U.S. and international newspapers full text covering the last 30+ years.

GreenFile Covers environmental planning, conservation biology and ecology and all aspects of the human impact on environment.

Historical Abstracts (For scholarly articles on World History published since the 1950s) and America History and Life (for U.S & Canadian History)

Historical New York Times 1851-2012 (Full text content to newspaper) and Historical Los Angeles Times 1881-1993

Retrospective Indexes: 1) Humanities & Social Sciences 1890-1983 (for scholarly articles); 2) Readers Guide, 1900-1983 (for popular magazine articles); 3) Essay and General Literature Index 1900-1983 (for scholarly chapters in edited works, books, anthologies)

JSTOR (Full text online archive to hundreds of scholarly journals dating back to the 1800s.)

BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

  • Use CSU+ To rapidly get books from other libraries that we don’t have or that are out.
  • Use BeachReach our interlibrary loan service for journals and books not in CSU+. 

HISTORIC U.S. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS, PRINT, MICROFILM, ONLINE AT CSULB

FULL TEXT HISTORICAL ACCOUNTS

GOOGLE TIPS

To find web sites based in that county, use two letter Internet country codes at end of search

  • for German sites, type in germany environmental history site:de 

Search only within certain Internet domains:

  • site:edu (for U.S. academic sites)
  • site:gov (for government sites
  • site:org (for nonprofit organizations, museums, institutes)
  • site:int (for international organizations such as UN

Use Google Scholar to find a wide range of interdisciplinary scholarly journals. You may be able to open many of these articles if searching on our campus (since it knows our IP address and what we subscribe to.)

Use Google Books to identify a wide array of books that might exist on your topic. You can then check our COAST catalog or LINK+ to see if it can be borrowed quickly.