Skip to main content

History Course Handouts: History 499 Riots Strikes Conspiracies

Handouts Used for Library Instruction in History Research

History 499 Library Instruction Handout

History 499, Riots, Strikes Conspiracies (Spring 2019)
Greg Armento greg.armento@csulb.edu, 562-985-4367 
 

·         For more research options, go to United States History Research Guide 

REFERENCE BOOKS

ABC-CLIO Companion to the 1960s Counterculture in America Online Encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO, 1997

American Decades Vincent Tompkins, editor. 10 vols. Each volume covers popular culture in a 20th Century decade

American Social Reform Movements Reference Library Online Encyclopedia. 2007.

Encyclopedia of American Race Riots 2 vols. Greenwod press 2007

Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America 2 vols. Sharpe Reference, 2005

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement. Matt S. Meier. Greenwood Press, 2000.

Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media Online Encyclopedia, 2011

Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History Online Encyclopedia, 2009

History in Dispute Series. Online book series on contentious movements in U.S. history. 2000- St. James Press. 

THREE SEARCH TIPS

1. If you place an asterisk* at the end of the word, you will catch all word variants. So if you type in word*, it will find all subject headings using the terms: word or words or wordiness or wordy or wordsmith, etc. (Don't use the asterisk a google search. It does not work)

2. If you want to force word adjacency or find a phrase, such as "slave rebellion",  or "wonders of nature" but your words in quotation marks as shown. 

3. If you want synonyms in a search, make capitalize OR (slaves OR servitude OR bondage OR indentured)

FINDING HISTORY BOOKS (print and online)

 

Use OneSearch Book Search to find books and media we have.

If you want higher relevancy in your results, try a OneSearch Subject Keyword Search for terms within a subject heading, and will result in highly relevant books.

Try some of these subject keyword combinations below in conjunction with an a secondary topic of interest.

suffrag*     movement*     environment*     protests     protester*     activist*     countercultur*   radical*     riot*     social change     hippie*     progressivis*     feminis*    civil rights     liberation
 
For finding primary materials, use some of these subject keywords below with another topic of interest:

sources      personal narrative*     interview*      diaries      oral histor*       biograph*     correspondence      papers      letters

  • Using any of the above techniques, also conduct the exact same search using CSU+ to find even more materials at nearby CSU libraries.

  • Use WORLDCAT for hard to find books and archival material around the world. It identifies over 100 million titles. 

  • Use ARCHIVESGRID will find archival repositories around the U.S.

KEY DATABASES TO USE (ONLINE AND PRINT)

Academic Search Complete (Comprehensive interdisciplinary access to nearly 3000 scholarly journals.

Alt Press Watch1970 to Date Covers newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters of alternative press.  May include perspectives complementing and challenging the mainstream media.  Before 1990 use  Alternative Press Index This is a print newspaper index for "underground" publications. Especially useful for local counterculture history from 1969-1990

American Antiquarian Society: American Periodicals Collection 1684-1912. Full text searchable historical journal content.

America History and Life (for scholarly articles on U.S & Canadian History) and Historical Abstracts (For scholarly articles on World History published since the 1950s)

American Periodical Series Online 1700-1940 Full text online scholarly and popular articles.

America’s Historical Imprints 1640-1830 Early American publications, books, broadsides and pamphlets, full text.

America's Historical Newspapers Online 1680-1870 (Full text newspapers from the late 1600s to mid 1800s)

Archives of Human Sexuality LBGTQ History and Culture Since 1940. Full text archive online..

ArtStor historical archive of photographs, images, artwork, pictures, paintings from ancient times to the present. (Also consider GETTY IMAGES to find early photographs, drawings, etchings of frontier life.)

California Newspaper Archive 1846-2015 Full text coverage of California newspapers 1846 to date. Covers Long Beach newspapers from the 1930s to present.

Congressional Publications 1824 - 2013. Full text .hearings, testimony, interviews used in preparation for Congressional action, laws, resolutions.

Dissertations and Theses (Full text access to book length PhD writings. Good for original research.)

Getty Images to find historic images of protests

Global Newsstream Thousands of U.S. and international newspapers full text covering the last 30+ years.

Historical New York Times 1851-2017 (Full text content to newspaper) and Historical Los Angeles Times 1881-1996

JSTOR (Full text online archive to hundreds of scholarly journals dating back to the 1800s.)

Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2008 (Daily edition excluding Sunday. Full text content to newspaper)

HISTORIC U.S. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS, PRINT, MICROFILM, ONLINE AT CSULB

GOOGLE TIPS

site:edu (for U.S. academic sites)

site:gov (for government sites

site:org (for nonprofit organizations, museums, institutes)

site:int (for international organizations such as UN

 

  • Use Google Scholar to find a wide range of interdisciplinary scholarly journals. You may be able to open many of these articles if searching on our campus (since it knows our IP address and what we subscribe to.)

See this google scholar search for Denmark Vesey articles

  • Use Google Books to identify a wide array of books that might exist on your topic. You can then check our COAST catalog or LINK+ to see if it can be borrowed quickly.

See these google books search results for the EARLIEST Denmark Vesey titles

 

See these google book results for (slave OR slavery OR servile) (insurrection OR uprising OR revolt) (Carolinas OR "South Carolina")