Skip to main content

Children's Collection

Learn more about the CSULB Library Children's Collection

Children's Collection

The CSULB Library Children's Collection on the University Library's 2nd floor, is a tribute to Isabel Patterson's generosity and interest in early childhood education. The Collection includes over 25,000 titles reflecting the ethnic and multicultural diversity of CSULB community and items can be found using OneSearch.  The Children's Collection supports CSULB studies in education and child development, art and more.  The Children's Collection is open all hours that the library is open.  The Children's Collection is a group study area and designated as a Family Friendly Study Area.

To navigate the collection:

Room 200 Room 204
  • Picture Books (PZ8.)
  • Videos and audiobooks (various call numbers)
  • Beginning readers (PZ6.)
  • Juvenile Fiction (PZ7.)
  • Young Adult Fiction (PZ7.5.)
  • Non-Fiction – all ages (subject call numbers)
  • K-12 Curriculum (subject call numbers)
  • Braille (various call numbers)
  • Poetry (PZ5.)
  • Oversized (various call numbers)
  • Foss Pop-Up Collection (In Building Use Only)
Books in the collection include:

To make a donation to the Children's Book Collection you can use the online form to donate to the library, and indicate your preference that the money go to the children's collection.  If you are interested in donating books, please see our gift policy.  Please contact the Children's Collection Librarian, Cathy Outten, or the Office of the Dean of the University Library (562) 985-4047 for more information.

For more information about children's literature, visit the Children's Literature Guide or the Young Adult Literature Guide