Research Guides: MBA@CSULB Library: Industry Information

Databases for Industry Information

Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window Covers up to 175 markets worldwide. It provides daily alerts and news stories, country risk ratings, economic analyses and forecasts. It also contains market research and forecast reports covering about 14 industries in 55 countries and a database of thousands of multinational companies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Limited to 30 downloads per session.  Covers about 680 U.S. industries written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance and outlook. These reports are written by industry specialists. Each report is updated every 4 months.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MarketResearch.com This link opens in a new window Full-text service of market research reports on many topics. Includes more than 40,000 market intelligence publications from 350 publishers worldwide.
- This link opens in a new window
RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window RMA Estatement Studies is the online version of RMA Annual Statement Studies. It combines Financial Ratio Benchmarks and Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Value Line Investment Survey Online This link opens in a new window Information and advice on approximately 1700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Provides year-ahead to three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and commentary on current operations and future prospects. Last 5 years worth of stock information. Allows 3 simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window

Major Industry Classification Systems

North American Classification System (NAICS)
Pronounced ‘nakes’, 6-digit classification system focusing on business activities and production processes. Developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide comparable business statistics throughout North America. Businesses using similar production processes are grouped together.
Standard Industry Classification System (SIC)
4-digit classification system focusing on manufactured goods and their constituent materials. Developed in the 1930s by the U.S. Central Statistical Board, superseded by NAICS and has not updated since 1987, although many sources still reference it.
U.S. Bureau of Census Correspondence Table

Industry Classification System Basics

A large portion of the information available on U.S. industries and businesses is organized by two major industry classification systems: the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and the Standard Industry Classification System (SIC). Both are hierarchical, numerical classification systems. Internationally-focused sources often apply other industry classification systems.

Companies involved in a wide range of activities may have multiple industry classifications, although usually one industry is considered primary.

The classification systems themselves do not provide direct links to industry information but many online databases and print directories enable searching by these codes. These systems also provide useful descriptions of industries and sub-industries as well as inspiration for search terms.