Skip to main content

eBooks

Link to all CSULB Library's eBook collections.

Our eBook Collections and How to Use Them

 
eBook Collection Description Access, Download, Print, Cite
ACLS Humanities eBooks Approximately 2,800 full-text titles in historical studies, art history, literature, political science, and religion Download and print 10 pages at a time; export to Zotero only
Books 24x7 Includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics.  Allows up to six simultaneous users. Can create citation within database, or export to RefWorks. Some content can be downloaded and printed.
Ebook Central (from ProQuest) Approximately 90,000 titles covering multidisciplinary topics Entire book can be downloaded; can print up to 60 pages; export to RefWorks and EndNotes.
eBooks Collection from EBSCO More than 8,000 titles covering multiple subjects.  Access is limited to 1-3 concurrent users. The concurrent user level is displayed at the bottom of the detailed record page.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) offers an online collection of premier reference ebooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single ebook or across an entire eBook collection. Unlimited concurrent users; articles can be downloaded and printed; Export to a variety of available bibliographic tools, e.g., RefWorks, EndNote
Knovel  Engineering eBooks in the following subject areas: aerospace and radar technology, civil engineering and construction materials, composites. Can download and print in PDF format, up to 15% of a book at any one time. You can create citations by clicking on the Tools icon on the left side of the content.

RBDigital

(formerly OneClickDigital)

Popular fiction and non-fiction titles to read or to listen to in eAudio format. Download the RBdigital app onto your personal device, and register. Check out period is 3 weeks.
Oxford Reference  More than 2 million entries from hundreds of cross-searchable Oxford encyclopedias and other reference books, many of which are illustrated. Unlimited concurrent users. Articles can be printed or emailed. Cannot export to citation manager software.
     
Rev. 2018   Thanks to Holly Yu from Cal State Los Angeles for her help with this chart.

 

Free Books Online

Many of the free books online are public domain, including titles published before 1923 and U.S. government documents.