Research Guides: CECS 490 and CECS 491: Find Articles / Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full-text access to all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications back to 1950s. Also includes, the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database of computing.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Use IEEE Xplore to access the full text of IEEE journals, magazines, standards, and conference proceedings. Full text is available for most content from 1988 to present. Covers 1950 to the present. IEEE Xplore allows up to five simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window Over 7 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports on all aspects of engineering including civil, computer, mechanical, material, aerospace, electronic, communication, transportation and more. Coverage: 1969 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Engineering
by Hema Ramachandran Last Updated Mar 18, 2024 886 views this year
Computer Science
by Hema Ramachandran Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 679 views this year

Search Google Scholar

When using Google Scholar rom off-campus, either use the University's VPN or go to Scholar Preferences, library links, and search for and select CSULB. Now in your search results you will have Get It at CSULB links to access CSULB subscriptions for full-text articles. See this how-to video for more info.

Technical Books

Skillsoft This link opens in a new window IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles.
- This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window Safari Tech Books Online is a collection of over 2000 full text, searchable e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions

Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:

Through the Database A-Z List
Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.

When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.

After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.

The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.

New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Your academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.

Existing users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.

***Note: your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account.*** Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.

Online Training Videos

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window CSULB faculty, students and staff now have free, unlimited access to Lynda.com, a leading online learning company that provides business, software, technology and creative skills training. The site allows you to brush up on existing skills or learn new subjects. The campus community can access the site's library of high-quality, current, and engaging video tutorials taught by recognized industry experts.
- This link opens in a new window

Getting the Full Text of an Article

One of the following buttons appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete, Compendex, ABI Inform etc.):

The menu will tell you whether we have it full-text online, in print or you have to request it via BeachReach.

If you have a citation to an article (but are not in a database), the simplest way to find out if we have the article online or in print is to search by journal title in COAST (the online catalog).

Not Available at CSULB?

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.

You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.

Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.