Research Guides: ENGR 101: Databases

Business Databases (Industry Information)

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To find articles about the profession and industries.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Limited to 30 downloads per session. Covers about 680 U.S. industries written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance and outlook. These reports are written by industry specialists. Each report is updated every 4 months.
MarketResearch.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text service of market research reports on many topics. Includes more than 40,000 market intelligence publications from 350 publishers worldwide.

Also consult the Business Research Guide for more databases.

OneSearch

OneSearch is a discovery tool that allows you to search most everything the CSULB Library owns or has access to - through one simple platform. It includes:

our local CSULB library items
items from all the other CSU campuses which you can borrow
articles from online journals
streaming audio and video content
digital repositories from universities, museums, and open-access archives around the world

We also have access to many government publications via OneSearch that are freely available on the Internet. Government publications are important for many engineering disciplines.

OneSearch Help

OneSearch Video Tutorials

It is important to know how to use OneSearch especially if you are searching for a specific book or item by title or author.

It is also a good starting point to finding journal articles - and preferable to Google since you will mind more credible sources. But if you want more targeted searching it is preferable to use a specialized engineering database. Consult the Engineering Research Guide.

You can use OneSearch for your ENGR101 project to find journal articles. Try the following strategies:

"chemical engineering" AND profession

"electrical engineering" AND development*

Engineering and Science Databases

Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex is the MAIN database for Engineering
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Examples above for finding out about latest developments in engineering. Conduct more searches on the Internet to find similar sites. Use the term "developments" and your chosen discipline.

Also consult the Engineering Research Guide for more databases.