Skip to main content

Grant Development Resources: Identifying Funders/Collaborators

Tracking funders in databases

In addition to using our databases to conduct a traditional “literature review” on a topic you can also use them to identify potential funders. Here are some databases in science and engineering that track funders:

  • Web of Science, a multidisciplinary database began systematically identifying funding agencies in their records in 2008 
  • PubMed Central (PMC) from the National Library of Medicine
  • Compendex

Use these databases to:

  • Track the research output and influence for any funding body or a specific grant / research program
  • Identify the strategic scope of a funding body
  • Identify vested interests
  • Identify future funding opportunities
  • Support an existing grant application by showing related information and evidence of previous performance
  • Find collaborators

 

FREE

Faculty Research Experience and Expertise (FREE) is a searchable electronic database that includes research experience and expertise of faculty at CSULB. The purpose of the FREE is to foster research collaborations and partnerships among faculty at CSULB, colleagues at other educational institutions, industry partners, and government agencies.

Go to the SSO page to edit your profile: https://csulb.okta.com/

Research Networking Tools

Academia.edu – for researchers to share and follow research.

CiteULike - a free service for managing and discovering scholarly references.

Mendeley – other than being a free reference manager, Mendeley also functions as an academic social network; acquired by Elsevier in spring 2013.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) – a research network for dissemination of scholarly research in social sciences and humanities and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

ResearchGate – a free research networking tool.

VIVO - An interdisciplinary network of scientists facilitating scholarly discovery. Institutions will participate in the network by installing VIVO, or by providing semantic web-compliant data to the network; developed at Cornell University in 2003 with an NIH grant.