Skip to main content

CHE 100: Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Key Reference Reources

The list below contains key PRINT reference books to consult to write your paper. However, you are not limited to these sources.  When you go to the reference shelves to find one of these resources, browse the collection at these call numbers to find other sources. Use these reference books to find all the basic information about your Unit/Measurement. The information in these books is succinct, authoritative and not easily available via a database search or an Internet search.
Make a photocopy copy or scan (and save to your flash drive) the relevant pages or take notes (reference books cannot be checked out). Make sure you keep a note of the details of the citation for your paper.  Make sure to bring money to add on to your CSULB ID card so you can make photocopies and/or a flash drive. The Reference Collection is on the first floor of the library.
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 8th Ed., McGraw-Hill, 1997 Ref. Q121 M3 1997 (20 vols.)                                                                                                                              
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 85th Ed., 2015/2016 Ref QD65 .H3
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology  Ref Q123 .E497 2002  
AIP Handbook  Ref QC61 .A5 1972  
MacMillan Encyclopedia of Physics  Ref QC5 .M15 1996  
Handbook of Physics QC61 .H37 2001
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, 5th Ed., Weinheim, c1985. Ref TP9 U57 1985 (multivolume set). Also available online
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 5th edition, 2004 Ref TP.K54 2004 (multivolume set). Also available online
 

Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias