This is the "Home" page of the "Careers and Jobs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Careers and Jobs  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2012 URL: http://csulb.libguides.com/careers Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Careers and Jobs

General Career Information

Business Week Online About Careers

Job search and career information for Business Week and LeadersOnline, an executive recruiter. Covers career strategies, work life, job trends, salaries and living costs. For middle to top executives, earning $75,000-$250,000.

Career and Job Hunting Resources Guide

From Quintcareers; includes a career toolkit with guidance on how to write cover letters and resumes among other topics, doing a job search and going to college.

Career Development Center (CSULB)

Links to job banks plus information on majors and careers, internships, resumes and cover letters and career counseling services. Also has library of career resources.  Use BeachLINK for interviews and internships.

Career Guide to Industries

Descriptions of 47 industries with career information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, covers working conditions, earning outlook and training requirements. 2000-2001 edition.

Guide to Job Hunting on the Internet

Tips, tools, tutorials and other information on doing a job search on the Internet.  Includes a tutorials on cover letters, resumes, interviewing and salary negotiations among others. A comprehensive site for students and jobseekers.

JobHuntersBible

Online supplement to the book by Dick Bolles, What Color is Your Parachute: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career Changers.

JobWeb

"A web site of career development and job-search information for college students and new college graduates." Sponsored by the National Association of Colleges and Employers.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics covers what workers do, working conditions, training and education needed, earnings and job prospects in a wide variety of occupations.


Researching Companies

The best approach to researching individual companies is to utilize the Subject Guide to Business - Corporations. This guide provides links to web sites that contain current company data, brief profiles and directory type information about companies.  You will have the most success if the company is publicly owned.


Salary and Wage Information

The best approach to researching salary, wage and benefit information is to utilize the Subject Guide to Business - Wages, Salaries and Benefits. This guide provides links to general sites and metasites on this topic, as well as to wage, salary and benefits surveys online.  The surveys usually can be searched by occupation and location.

Job Listings: General

America's Job Bank

Links to 1,800 state Employment Services offices with jobs listings for both the private and public sectors.  

Careerbuilder

A megasite career search engine that covers multiple career web sites (over 70); advanced searching includes location, description, keyword, and salary searches.

Monster

"Monster.com is a lifelong career network job seekers can use to expand their careers, providing continuous access to the most progressive companies, as well as interactive, personalized tools to make the process effective and convenient. Features include: My Monster, resume management, a personal job search agent, a careers network, chats and message boards, privacy options, expert advice on job-seeking and career management and free newsletters."




 




 




 

Content maintained by Carol Perruso
      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip