Research Guides: Classics: Find Articles

Handout & Videos

Handouts

Steps to Research Handout - (Dr. P.'s Handout) Just starting out with research? Need a refresher about how to use the library? Like Step-By-Step instructions? This is your handout!
Steps to Research Handout - ADA PDF
Steps to Research Handout - ADA Word Doc
Steps to Research Brief (2pp) The 8 Steps summarized, with some helpful links for Interlibrary Loan.

Videos

Videos for the Steps to Research by Dr. P. A series of videos that explain the Steps to Research Handout and other research & library support.
All Library Tutorial Videos Dr. P.'s videos plus all the other videos created by CSULB librarians that are specific to your majors.

Videos + Tutorials & Assessment

Tutorials & Assessment for Steps to Research Videos
These are Dr. P.'s "How to Use the Library" videos with tutorials & assessment. Includes a How to Avoid Plagiarism Tutorial!

Supplemental Materials

Free Grammar Check A free grammar checker online. Always ask for further help from your professor and The CSULB Writing Center.
What Is a Scholarly Article? Brief explanation of scholarly articles and the peer-review process.
Identifying Types of Sources A brief guide to identifying primary and secondary sources.
Identifying Fake News Guide from the University of Oregon

Creating Keywords and Thinking Through Your Research - A Worksheet A step-by-step worksheet/guide to starting with a few words all the way through to evaluating the best sources for your assignment.

Get Help with Writing at the UWC The University Writing Center offers one-to-one and small group tutorials in writing essays and projects for your classes.

Find DVDs in the Library A search for physical DVDs in the Library

To see all options for streaming media, check out my video Accessing eMaterials and go to TimeStamp 11:18.

Library Spaces - a Video Overview A short video about the library's spaces and what they offer you.

Access the Library

1. Chrome is the preferred browser for our Library website.

2. Sign-In to MYCSULB:

csulb.edu > Students > Single Sign-On (SSO) > Library Button

Databases: Classics

L'Année Philologique (Greek and Roman Antiquity) This link opens in a new window Includes 60 years of scholarship on Greco-Roman antiquity, covering history, religion, philosophy, archaeology, and literature. Spanning from the 2nd millennium BCE to the early Middle Ages.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Harvard's Loeb Classical Library presents over 520 volumes of Greek and Latin classics, including poetry, drama, history, philosophy, and science, with reliable texts and English translations.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Citations to scholarly works on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory, dramatic arts, and printing history since the 5th century CE. Also includes rhetoric and teaching practices. Covers 1926 to present, updated ten times yearly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window Includes diverse literary criticisms: Contemporary, Twentieth and Nineteenth Century, from 1400-1800, Classical & Medieval, Shakespearean, and Drama Criticism, encompassing a wide range of periods and styles.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window Authoritative guides to current scholarship in Atlantic History, Latin American Studies and Education. Bibliographies contain original commentary and annotations.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Public Databases: Classics

Databases: Useful

Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window Includes ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior across the globe.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Worldwide coverage of the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and related interdisciplinary studies.Coverage: 1880 to present.Anthropology Plus allows up to five simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Full-text archive and indexing of all American Anthropological Association (AAA) published journals, newsletters, and bulletins.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online This link opens in a new window A project of the J. Paul Getty Trust to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture, and material culture. The AAT contains generic terms; it contains no proper names.
Art Index This link opens in a new window Art Index includes more than 600 English-language journals worldwide on all aspects of art and artists including advertising, photography, museum studies, archaeology, fashion, and design. Also indexes reproductions of art works and art dissertations. (Funded in part by a grant from the CSULB Alumni Association) Coverage: 1929 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window Comprehensive index of over 13 million biographical sketches from current and retrospective reference books, featuring contemporary and historical figures globally. Complete source list available under 'Sources Indexed' on each screen. Updated biannually.
- This link opens in a new window
Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window Features two parts: 1) International Medieval Bibliography with 300,000+ citations of articles, chapters, and proceedings since 1967; 2) Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, indexing books and reviews since 1957. Focuses on European and Mediterranean history from 300-1500 AD.
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Ethnicity & Social Justice In solidarity with the anti-racism #scholarstrike September 8 and 9, 2020, we have created this Research Guide. Black Lives Matter and Anti-Racism Resources and Research highlights NEW Library resources that support scholarship and learning in these areas. In addition, we have listed other excellent resources that will be useful to all researchers.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Indexes the last 60 years of “modern history” (historical scope, post 1450 to date) and covers over 2000 scholarly journals, books, and Ph.D. dissertations . Does not cover the U.S. and Canada (use America History & Life)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides the full-text electronic versions of more than 200 scholarly journals. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Historic Texts

Early European books (EEB) and Early English Books Online (EEBO) will provide pdf full-texts of historic printings.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*
Early European Books This link opens in a new window Offers digital access to pre-1701 European books and incunabula in high-resolution color. Includes materials from major libraries like Det Kongelige Bibliotek, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Welcome Library London and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EEBO Early English Books Online, 1473 -1700 This link opens in a new window A full text collection of over 100,000 facsimile e-books. Provides full text access to books in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Websites

The Online Medieval & Classical Library

"The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization." You may search by title, author, genre, or language.

The Perseus Digital Library

Currently Perseus includes materials on Classics, Papyri [non-literary papyri from the Ptolemaic and Roman periods]; English Renaissance [primary and secondary sources in early modern English literature]; London [the Edwin C. Bolles Collection on the history of London from its founding to the 19th century]; California, the Midwest, and Chesapeake [the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection of books on these regions]; Tufts University [primary and secondary sources on the host institution]; Boyle [works and diaries of scientist Robert Boyle]; and electronic exhibits on the Olympic Games and on Hercules/Herakles."

Library Instruction Survey

Library Lecture Assessment Spring 2024