Research Guides: Engineering: Databases/Ebooks/Streaming Media

Databases/Ebooks/Streaming Media

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NEW An engineering references and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. AccessEngineering prepares students to solve real-world problems, makes curriculum planning and delivery easy for faculty, and helps professionals find relevant information faster, driving increased ROI. Click on the Webinars tab to watch a detailed recording on how to incorporate the database into your curriculum
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full-text access to all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications back to 1950s. Also includes, the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database of computing.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AIAA Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window Bibliographic (citations) access to all research published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) but the library only has full-text access to selected journals.  
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window The ASCE Library provides access to journals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Coverage: 1970 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASME Mechanical Engineering This link opens in a new window ASME Mechanical Engineering This database provides access to journals and conference papers from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window American Society of Metals (ASM) Handbooks Online (in 30 volumes) is the most comprehensive, peer-reviewed, trusted information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
ASM Micrograph Database This link opens in a new window A growing collection of more than 4500 micrograph images and associated data from the American Society of Metals in cooperation with the International Matellographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window Search for ASTM standards here!
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Please click on 'Yes, I Agree With the License' to access database
Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window Over 7 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports on all aspects of engineering including civil, computer, mechanical, material, aerospace, electronic, communication, transportation and more. Coverage: 1969 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window Material from newspapers, websites, journals, case studies, as well as videos, primary footage, and simulations of major engineering failures all exploring issues of engineering ethics. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Provides articles on the of human impact to the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
IET Research Hub This link opens in a new window Complete portfolio of journals, 2013-present, from long-standing publisher IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) covering engineering and technology fields
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive access to the Society of Automotive Engineers technical papers, standards, specifications and journals back to 2008
- This link opens in a new window
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window The SPIE Digital Library (The International Society for Optical Engineering now simply known as SPIE) is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics covering biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging. The database contains all the proceedings papers published from 1962 to date, journal articles and Ebooks published by SPIE; 18,000 new papers are added annually.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TRID This link opens in a new window From the Transportation Research Board, a collection of reports and articles on worldwide transportation covering all modes, economics, and disciplines of transportation.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Use IEEE Xplore to access the full text of IEEE journals, magazines, standards, and conference proceedings. Full text is available for most content from 1988 to present. Covers 1950 to the present. IEEE Xplore allows up to five simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

DTIC Online
NASA Tech Reports Server NTRS is a free valuable resource for students, educators, researchers, and the public for access to NASA's current and historical technical literature. provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos

Use OneSearch for a preliminary search of a topic or a few good hits.

Skillsoft This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This was Books 24/7
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions

Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:

Through the Database A-Z List
Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.

When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.

After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.

The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.

New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Your academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.

Existing users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.

***Note: your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account.*** Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.
Knovel (Engineering eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window Full-text access, including interactive tables and graphs to engineering handbooks in: aerospace and radar technology, biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials, environmental engineering, food science, general engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, regulatory information, safety and industrial hygiene and sustainable energy. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

And more eBook collections

eBooks
by University Library Webgroup Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 398 views this year

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window American Society of Metals (ASM) Handbooks Online (in 30 volumes) is the most comprehensive, peer-reviewed, trusted information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window table {mso-displayed-decimal-separator:"\."; mso-displayed-thousand-separator:"\,";} tr {mso-height-source:auto;} col {mso-width-source:auto;} td {padding-top:1px; padding-right:1px; padding-left:1px; mso-ignore:padding; color:black; font-size:11.0pt; font-weight:400; font-style:normal; text-decoration:none; font-family:Calibri, sans-serif; mso-font-charset:0; text-align:general; vertical-align:bottom; border:none; white-space:nowrap; mso-rotate:0;} An engineering reference (e.g. Handbooks) and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Bioengineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Bioengineering merges both physical and life sciences to understand and predict biological processes. Applying physical science tools to life science questions allow for the discovery of better technologies to measure, diagnose, and clinically treat disease.
JoVE Neuroscience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Neuroscience includes methods and techniques for studying the brain and nervous system; also featuring potential treatments for neurological conditions and diseases.
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window Educators and students use our innovative video collections in the JoVE Science Education Library to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy works directly with film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. "Browse" to Science and then Engineering. Almost 200 databases for Engineering - include the famous Silicon Run series.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business, software, technology and creative skills training from a leading online learning company. Brush up on existing skills or learn new subjects. High-quality, current, and engaging video tutorials taught by recognized industry experts.
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window In addition to eBooks, this database also has a lot of videos. Limit search by format--videos
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions

Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:

Through the Database A-Z List
Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.

When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.

After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.

The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.

New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Your academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.

Existing users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.

***Note: your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account.*** Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.
Skillsoft This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection

And more Videos and Streaming media collections

Streaming Media
by University Library Webgroup Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 546 views this year

AccessEngineering A webinar for faculty on using resources in this database to incorporate into the curriculum. Password: mcGraw@0724

ASTM Webinar At the 3.20 second mark, there are directions on how to find out if the standard has a video. Thus far there are about 150 videos (as of July 2020)

ACS Web Editions This link opens in a new window Full text of all years of 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society. Coverage: 1971 to date. 
- This link opens in a new window
Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window Abstracts and citations from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window Brings together multimedia materials around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GeoScienceWorld with GeoRef This link opens in a new window GeoRef contains over 3.5 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. GeoScienceWorld has over 45 full text journals, some back to the 1920s. Citations from 1785 to present; full text availability varies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Provides articles on the of human impact to the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window Contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data dates back to the early 1800s.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of articles, government documents and images on international affairs, military and security issues, political science, law enforcement and technology of weapons from 1960 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window With access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry file, SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical resource including references, substances and reactions. Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder.
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required* Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder. Use this link: https://csulb.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1A17FDE8-86F3-5055-53C9-1A6FE77E6868
Scitation (AIP) This link opens in a new window Access to full text articles, citations and abstracts of journals in physics, astronomy, engineering, acoustics, fluids, plasmas, optics, applied mathematics and more. The majority of the journals are the American Institute of Physics (AIP) titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ThomasNet.com This link opens in a new window ThomasNet is a free comprehensive business directory for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Has information on 173,000+ companies, 152,000 brand names, and provides links to 8000+ online company catalogs.

BIOL Biological Sciences Subject Guide
by Norah DeBellis Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 999 views this year

Chemistry & Biochemistry
by Khue Duong Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 657 views this year

Biomedical Engineering
by Hema Ramachandran Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 281 views this year

Environmental Science and Policy
by Khue Duong Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 79 views this year

Transportation and Logistics
by Kelly Janousek Last Updated Sep 13, 2023 54 views this year

Health Science
by Michelle DeMars Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 1583 views this year

OneSearch

OneSearch Guides

OneSearch Help

Video Tutorials

Tips and Tools

Using Google Scholar

Get It @ CSULB

This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).

Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for the full text of your article.

If you have any problems, please report them using the form linked below. Details about Get It @ CSULB, including on how to integrate it with other systems like citation managers, are available below.

Not Available at CSULB?

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.

You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.

Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.