Getting the Full Text of an Article
Looking for Full-Text?
One of the following buttons appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsychInfo):


Click the button to search all of CSULB's subscriptions for full text of your article.
For more information, click here.
Not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through ArticleReach (AR) to get full-text of any article.
You can get to AR from the Get it @CSULB box when you are searching in the databases!
Need more information on AR? Visit our Interlibrary Services page.
Start with These
Use these databases to find articles on Mathematics topics.
- MathSciNet
Search articles, authors, journals, and reviews in Math. - ERIC (via EBSCO)
Use this database for any research involving EDUCATION - Academic Search Complete
A huge multi-subject database, ASC is a good place to start any search. - Current Index to Statistics
Journals and books with statistical content from 1975 to present.
Also Useful
More databases to try.
- Compendex (includes EI Village)
Use for engineering questions. - IEEE Xplore
Use for engineering questions, especially electrical engineering and computing questions.
Additional Resources
Some Math Journals at CSULB
Finding Journal Articles at CSULB
Step One
The first step in finding scholarly/peer reviewed articles for research is to use a database to find citations of articles that are on your topic. Online databases are listings of articles published in a particular set of journals.
Keep in mind that for academic research you want to stick with scholarly articles published in journals like Advances in Nursing Science as opposed to news type articles in magazines like Newsweek. Some databases will even allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles, also called peer-reviewed, juried, or refereed articles, by checking a box.
The Find Articles/Databases tab of this page gives quick access to online databases useful for biology research.
Step Two
After you have found citations for articles that seem relevant to your topic, you need to access the articles themselves. You can decide if they are relevant (articles you want) by looking at titles and abstracts (short summaries of the articles) in the database citation.
Getting the article
(Follow these steps until you have the article in hand):
To get the article electronically:
-
Some articles will be available in full-text or PDF format by simply clicking a link right in the database.
- If there is no direct link, look for a Getit@CSULB link (see top left box on the Find Articles/Databases tab for more info) which searches for the article in any database subscribed to by CSULB and the COAST library catalog as well to let you know if CSULB has a subscription to the article online or in print.
- If it is available electronically online, you should be able to click a link and then either print the article or e-mail it to yourself.
- If that doesn't find the article, try to find the journal in COAST either by clicking the link in the Getit@CSULB page or searching manually (see below).
If the journal is not available electronically, get the article in paper:
-
Try a COAST search using the journal title , not the article title , to see if CSULB has a subscription to the journal.
- If it is available in paper at CSULB you will have to come to the library to photocopy it. Make sure you write down the ENTIRE citation (author, title, journal title, volume, number, year, pages) from the database and the call number from COAST.
- If it is not available electronically or in print at CSULB you can still request the article through Interlibrary Services. This gets the article from another library either in paper or electronically and usually takes 1-7 days. So be sure to start your research early!
Need help deciphering journal title abbreviations?
Try the PubMed Single Citation Matcher
Type in your journal title abbreviation and find out what the full title is!

Loading...
Loading...
