Keys to Your Success
Research is a multistep process
Research may be very interdisciplinary
Think broadly; then narrow the focus
Keep a record of your sources
Research Tips
IDENTIFY YOUR TOPIC
Identify key concepts (keywords, synonyms, subject headings)
IDENTIFY YOUR SOURCES
Identify your information sources (books, journal articles, news, encyclopedias)
REFINE YOUR SEARCHES
Create search statements using Boolean Operators:
Use AND between different key terms to narrow a search i.e., athletes AND doping
Use OR between synonym key terms to broaden a search i.e., colleges OR universities
Use truncation symbols (*) to retrieve multiple variations of a word i.e., athlet* retrieves athlete, athletes, athletic, athletics
Use "phrase searching" to search for words in the order they appear i.e., "student athletes"
Getting the Full Text of an Article
Looking for Full-Text?
One of the following buttons appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsychInfo):


Click the button to search all of CSULB's subscriptions for full text of your article.
For more information, click here.
Not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through ArticleReach (AR) to get full-text of any article.
You can get to AR from the Get it @CSULB box when you are searching in the databases!
Need more information on AR? Visit our Interlibrary Services page.
Journals in Kinesiology
POPULAR vs. SCHOLARLY PUBLICATIONS:
Popular Sources are designed for the general population. They are typically written by a non-expert through the use of secondary sources and whose crediibility can be limited. Examples include: Sports Illustrated, The Sporting News, Time Magazine.
Scholarly or Academic journals report original scientific research. Submitted articles are usually peer-reviewed by a panel of experts and scholars in the field. Examples include Journal of Sport Management, Journal of Sports Economics, Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology.
Location of Periodicals:
Current journals - Lower Level
Older (bound) - ORCA
Online via Databases
Start with these
- SPORT Discus
This database is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports, physical education, sports management, and sports medicine literature. It also includes coverage in the areas of biomechanics, coaching, exercise, fitness, health, psychology, training and conditioning, sports injuries, and rehabilitation. - Academic Search Complete
This interdisciplinary database contains information on sports, physical education, sports management and kinesiology. - PsycINFO
The one-stop-shop for a article information on psychology, and especially for sports psychology. - ScienceDirect
From one of the preminent scientific publishers, Science Direct is an excellent source for infomation on kinesiology, exercise science, anatomy and other areas of sports science. - SocINDEX
Provides abstracts to articles on topics of abortion, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, socio-cultural anthropology, sociology, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions. - Physical Education Index
This database indexes scholarly and trade literature in physical education. It covers a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. - ABI/INFORM Complete
This is a business database, but is a wonderful resource when looking for journal articles on sports management, sports and finance and sports marketing.
Also Useful
- Business Source Premier
This database contains popular, trade, and scholarly articles covering a wide range of business and marketing topics related to sports. In addition, this database includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analysis. - ERIC (via EBSCO)
ERIC is the premier database in the field of Education. It also contains journal articles in the areas of physical education, sports, and health topics. - GenderWatch

- Opposing Viewpoints in Context

- Project MUSE

- PubMed@CSULB
This database indexes journal articles and books in the biomedical field. - MEDLINE (via OVID)
From the National Library of Medicine, this database contains scholarly journal articles covering all areas of medicine, including anatomy and sports medicine. - Web of Science

- Newsstand (Formerly Newspapers)
ProQuest Newsstand™ offers great access to sports related articles from over 1300 newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and news websites from several leading publishers. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and many other national and regional titles. - LexisNexis Academic
To search for sports related articles, choose the "Power Search" option from menu screen and click "Subject" inside the Add Index Terms box. Check mark "Sports & Recreation" option and click ok. Type your keywords and select your source. This is also an excellent source for sports law. - Dissertations and Theses

Google Scholar
Retrieve scholarly and peer-reviewed citations on any subject.
Tip: Use “Cited by” and “Related articles” to find additional articles.
If you are on campus, click on Get it! @CSULB. If the full text
article is not available or free, check to see if the Library owns it or use Citation
Linker (and if not use ArticleReach).
Finding a Specific Article
Use Citation Linker to find if the CSULB Library has a copy of the journal article you need. You will need to enter as much information (article title, journal, author, year of publication, volume, issue, page numbers) as possible, and Citation Linker will search our databases to see if we have a print or electronic copy of the article.

Loading...
