GOOGLE SCHOLAR
Retrieve scholarly and peer-reviewed citations on any subject.
Tip: Use “Cited by” and “Related articles” to find additional articles.
If you are on campus, click on Get it! @CSULB. If the full text article is not available or free, check to see if the Library owns it or use Citation Linker (and if not use BeachReach).
Start with These
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Sage Research Methods (SRM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool with links to more than 100,000 pages from books and journals plus new videos on research methods from one of the top publishers of research methodology content. Primary focus is on methodology rather than disciplines, so it can be used across social and behavioral sciences. - Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Education Index Retrospective, 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window Cover-to-cover indexing of 600 periodicals in the areas of education history and foundations. It cites nearly one million articles, including book reviews. Coverage: 1929 - 1983
- This link opens in a new window
Also Useful
- Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window Not only for teaching and research in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- MAS Ultra This link opens in a new window Designed for high school libraries, contains full text of popular high school magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and a School Image Collection (back to 1975 for key magazines)
- This link opens in a new window
- Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window Contains full text for nearly 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents.
- This link opens in a new window
- Primary Search This link opens in a new window Primary Search is a database that offers full text access to over 50 popular elementary school magazines. In addition Primary Search offers access to the Encyclopedia of Animals and Funk and Wagnall's. Covers: 1984 to present. Updated: Weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
- SocINDEX Full Text This link opens in a new window Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Resources
- ComDisDome This link opens in a new window ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature including journal articles and books, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. Originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management as far back as the mid-1960s.
- This link opens in a new window
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS® is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
- This link opens in a new window
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, and first published in 1938 by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing.
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window A collection of viewpoints from various sources on social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, endangered species, to name a few. Includes relevant articles, encyclopedia entries and opinions for each topic covered.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- SPORT Discus This link opens in a new window Links to articles from sports, physical fitness, physical education, kinesiology, college & university sport, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, recreation, leisure studies, sports law, tourism, health, and more. Includes items back to 1800.
- This link opens in a new window
Need to find a specific journal?
To find a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper enter the name of the journal (NOT the title of the article) in the "Journal Title Search" link provided below. It will link you to print holdings and/or full-text online subscriptions.
FINDING A SPECIFIC ARTICLE
Citation Linker allows you to enter your citation and find out whether or not the CSULB University Library provides full text. To use CitationLinker you must know the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper the article is in (e.g. Journal of Research in Reading, The Reading Teacher). You will need to enter as much information (article title, journal, author, year of publication, volume, issue, page numbers) as possible, and Citation Linker will search our databases to see if we have a print or electronic copy of the article.
Works Cited List & Bibliography
Zotero is a citation management tools. It helps you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources. It can create bibliographies in many citation forms.
- What is Zotero?Zotero is an open-source reference management software to manage bibliographic data and related research materials.