Searching Techniques
Databases might have different interfaces but they have similar functionality:
AND Use AND between search terms to narrow a search by including more than one concept, e.g. teen AND pregnancy
OR Use OR between search terms to broaden a search by including synonyms for a concept, e.g. (teen OR adolescent)
" " Use quotation marks to search for a phrase, in the exact order you type it, e.g. “health care reform”.
* Use an asterisk to search for multiple versions of a word, e.g. obes* will allow you to search for obesity and obese.
() Use parentheses when you are using synonyms (see OR above).
Finding a Specific Article
1. Citation Linker can help you find out if the library has a full-text online copy of a specific journal article. Enter as much of the following information as possible, and Citation Linker will search our databases to see if we have a copy of the article:
-
Full title of the journal. Do not use a journal abbreviation.
-
Year.
-
Volume.
-
Issue.
-
First page of the article.
2. If the library has the full text online, you will see a link to the appropriate database.
3. If we only have the article in print, you will see a link to COAST for the location in the library of the print copy.
4. If we have neither, you will see a link for ArticleReach. Request the article through ArticleReach and we will get it from another library (no charge) and email it to you, usually within 24 hours to 48 hours.
Databases Most Frequently Used by Sociology Students
- Sociological Abstracts
Use for theoretical research topics and applied sociology topics. - Academic Search Complete
Broad database with research from most disciplines. Not deep in any one field. - SocINDEX
Broad database in the social sciences.
Also Useful
Specialized databases in fields related to Sociology.
- ERIC (via EBSCO)
Research on education, school-related programs and school-age populations. - PsycINFO
Primary database for research on psychology and mental health topics. - GenderWatch
Extensive database devoted to gender and women's issues, including articles on LGBTQ issues, ethnic and minority women, and women of color. - ATLA Religion Database
Database indexing over 1200 scholarly journals covering topics in the social sciences and humanities. - CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Broad database in fields of health, medicine and nursing. - CQ Researcher
Background reports on many social issues. Provides a summary, pros-cons, a chronology, and bibliography. - Criminal Justice Abstracts
Research related to crime, sentencing and prison populations. - International Political Science Abstracts
This database contains abstracts from journals in the field of political science. Useful for issues such as immigration. - Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Research on topics related to aging, the elderly, and older adults. - Public Administration Abstracts
Database covers areas relevant to the discipline, like urbanism, recreation, housing, and poverty. - Public Affairs Index
Bibliographical database covering issues such as human and civil rights, poverty, and discrimination. Draws on an array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works. - Social Services Abstracts
Primary database for research in social work field.
Getting Full Text of Articles
Looking for Full-Text?
One of the following buttons appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsychInfo):


Click the button to search all of CSULB's subscriptions for full text of your article.
For more information, click here.
Not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through ArticleReach (AR) to get full-text of any article.
You can get to AR from the Get it @CSULB box when you are searching in the databases!
Need more information on AR? Visit our Interlibrary Services page.
Where and How?
- My Library Account
- Reserves
- Location of Materials
- Understanding Call Numbers
- Other Libraries
- RefWorksSoftware to help you manage your references and bibliographies.

Loading...
