Research Guides: Linguistics: Find Articles / Databases

Start with These for Articles & Books about Linguistics & Languages

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnologue This link opens in a new window Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. Includes details such as: the number of speakers, locations, dialects, linguistic affiliations, autonyms, and an estimate of language viability.
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Citations to scholarly works on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory, dramatic arts, and printing history since the 5th century CE. Also includes rhetoric and teaching practices. Covers 1926 to present, updated ten times yearly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
L'Année Philologique (Greek and Roman Antiquity) This link opens in a new window Includes 60 years of scholarship on Greco-Roman antiquity, covering history, religion, philosophy, archaeology, and literature. Spanning from the 2nd millennium BCE to the early Middle Ages.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Worldwide coverage of the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and related interdisciplinary studies.Coverage: 1880 to present.Anthropology Plus allows up to five simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text This link opens in a new window Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English published from 1907 – 1984. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Useful for 20th century history & politics.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. Originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Resources beyond Articles & Books

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The OED is the authoritative dictionary on the English language; the online version contains the 20 volumes of the print version, with revisions. Updates quarterly.OED allows 15 simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides the full-text electronic versions of more than 200 scholarly journals. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Get It @ CSULB

This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).

Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for the full text of your article.

If you have any problems, please report them using the form linked below. Details about Get It @ CSULB, including on how to integrate it with other systems like citation managers, are available below.

Not Available at CSULB?

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.

You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.

Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.