Research Guides: Library Science: OneSearch

Books- Where and How?

Quick Links

eBooks

eBooks

Ebook Central (from ProQuest) This link opens in a new window More than 80,000 academic e-books in 16 subject categories (Formerly called eBrary)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles. Allows up to 6 simultaneous users. Formerly called Books 24/7.
- This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window Full-text, searchable electronic books. Books can only be read online. However, mindful of copyright laws, texts may be printed out or copied in part using browser functions. Coverage: Most books are pre-2003. Also provides access to 3,500 older, "public domain" works that may be several hundred years old.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions

Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:

Through the Database A-Z List
Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.

When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.

After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.

The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.

New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Your academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.

Existing users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.

***Note: your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account.*** Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window Is a digital collection of over 1,700 full text searchable e-books of recommended by humanities scholars.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*
Knovel (Engineering eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window Full-text access, including interactive tables and graphs to engineering handbooks in: aerospace and radar technology, biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials, environmental engineering, food science, general engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, regulatory information, safety and industrial hygiene and sustainable energy. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Libby (previously Overdrive) This link opens in a new window Popular ebooks and audiobooks that you can read and listen to through the Libby app on your personal device.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Search the Library Catalog for Books (OneSearch)

General Information

Harrod's librarians' glossary of terms used in librarianship, documentation and the bookcrafts and reference book.
Available in print: REF Z1006 .H377 1987
This title provides a selection of essays regarding public relations models, the profession, the effects of the internet, and best practices. An excellent title if you need some scholarly analysis of public relations issues and a starting place for a public relations research topic.

Dictionary for school library media specialists : a practical and comprehensive guide / Mary Maude McCain and Martha Merrill.
Available in print: Z1006 .M43 2001
This title explains library concepts specifically for the field of school libraries.

Notable Titles

INFORMATION LITERACY & INSTRUCTION

To find books dealing with teaching information in a school setting search COAST using the subject heading "library orientation..."

Information Literacy for K-16 Settings / Lesley S.J. Farmer.
This website will provide basic groundwork for infusing information literacy into the curriculum at all educational levels.

Information Literacy and Workplace Performance, by Tom W. Goad (2002).
An easy to read guide that attends to basic skills, thinking and decision-making, creativity enhancement, innovation and risk taking, computer literacy, subject matter literacy, learning how to learn, and securement of on-the-job help. Goad discusses an unusual but highly relevant topic: how do we place work into the framework of our lives, and how can information literacy help?

Teaching Information Literacy Skills, by Patricia Iannuzzi, Charles T. Mangrum II and Stephen S. Strichart (1999).
This book has reproducible activities (for schools and higher education) to help students develop information literacy skills.

Information literacy and information skills instruction : applying research to practice in the school library media center / Nancy Pickering Thomas ; edited by Paula Kay Montgomery.
This book will help you with developing an instruction plan at the elementary school level.

Cooperative learning activities in the library media center / Lesley S.J. Farmer.

Internet Access In U.S. Public Schools 1994-2000 / NCES
This is a full text report on the internet that discusses access to the internet at public schools nation-wide.COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Library and Information Science Resources: Collection Development Sites This is part of the ACQ Web out of Vanderbilt.
Contains links for collection development of books as well as web resources. Has a great link for finding book reviews online.

CSULB Children's Literature Research Guide
CSULB has a great selection of children's literature on the 5th floor. Check out this guide created by John D'Amicantonio to see additional resources.

Collection Development Texts

Collection development for a new century in the school library media center / W. Bernard Lukenbill.

Censorship and selection : issues and answers for schools / Henry Reichman

Collection assessment and management for school libraries : preparing for cooperative collection development / Debra E. Kachel.

Guide to reference materials for school library media centers / Barbara Ripp Safford.

Selecting books for the elementary school library media center : a complete guide / Phyllis Van Orden.

Creating cyber libraries : an instructional guide for school library media specialists / Kathleen W. Craver.

Book Lists

Great books about things kids love : more than 750 recommended books for children 3 to 14 / Kathleen Odean.

Building character through literature : a guide for middle school readers / Rosann Jweid, Margaret Rizzo.

Adventuring with books : a booklist for pre-K-grade 6 / Kathryn Mitchell Pierce, editor ; with Cathy Beck ... [et al.] and the Committee to Revise the Elementary School Booklist ; with a foreword by Jane Yolen.

Children's books from other countries / [sponsored by] United States Board on Books for Young People ; Carl M. Tomlinson, editor.

High interest easy reading : an annotated booklist for middle and senior high school / Patricia Phelan, editor, and the Committee to Revise High Interest Easy Reading of the National Council of Teachers of English.

Your reading : a booklist for junior high and middle school / C. Anne Webb, editor, Paul Hirth, associate editor, and the Committee on the Junior High and Middle School Booklist of the National Council of Teachers of English.