Chemistry & Biochemistry: Analytical Chemistry

To locate books on your topic, use the COAST catalog.  As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. For a particular chemical substance (e.g. beryllium, amphetamines, ivory) or a class of substances (drugs, metals, pesticides) or a particular environment (water, soil, blood), combine your key term and the term "analysis".
Examples:blood analysis, pesticides analysis.

If you find a relevant record, check its subject headings to see if there is alternative terminology you should try. Similarly, use keyword searches to find books on particular analytical methods (mass spectrometry, atomic absorption). You may also want to browse in the book stacks. Books on analytical chemistry methods are grouped together in the range QD 75 - QD 139. Organic analysis may also be found at QD 271-272

Comprehensive Analytical Chemistry    (QD 75 .W5) -- A 31 volume (and growing) series, each volume dedicated to a particular analytical technique. See the list near the beginning of the most recent volume for a full list of volume titles. Contains lots of detailed information on the techniques covered.

Comprehensive Desk Reference of Polymer Characterization and Analysis    (QD 139 .P6 C60 2002 SEL Ref Area) -- This one-volume reference contains chapters by experts in the field on chemical analysis, structure determination, characterization and performance property determination of polymers.

Dean's Analytical Chemistry Handbook, 2nd ed.    (QD 78 .P37 2004 SEL Ref Area) -- This one-volume reference has eighteen chapters on different analytical methods and chapters on specific types of analytes or substrates (e.g., organic compounds, environmental pollutants, air, water.) Detailed, with good indezxing and bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry    (QD 71.5 .E52 2000 SEL Ref Area) -- This very recent 15 volume set devotes its first ten volumes to areas of chemical analysis (e.g., Chemical Weapons Chemical Analysis; Environment: Water and Waste; Peptides and Proteins; Surfaces) and the last five volumes to methods (e.g., Atomic Spectroscopy; Liquid Chromatography; Radiochemical Methods). The articles are detailed, by experts in their fields, with good refernces and cross-referencing.

Encyclopedia of Analytical Science, 2nd ed.     (QD 71.5 .E53 2005 SEL Ref Area) -- This 10 volume set is recent and excellent for articles on specific analytes (e.g. "antimony", "asbestos", "carbohydrates"); matrices ("blood and plasma", "ceramics"); specific methods ("atomic absorption spectrometry") and general classes of analysis ("bioprocess analysis", "forensic science"). The articles are not comprehensive review articles -- they have relatively short bibliographies. The set has good tables of contents, with cross-references, and a good index in Vol. 10. This is a great starting point for your research.

Ewing's Analytical Instrumentation Handbook, 3rd ed.    (QD 79 .I5 E95 2005 SEL Ref Area) -- This one-volume reference has chapters by experts in their respective fields on all areas of instrumental analysis, including chapters on such modern hot topics as use of computers in analysis, biosensors, and "lab-on-a-chip" technology. Detailed, with good bibliographies.

Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis, 2nd ed.    (QD 78 .B78 2003 SEL Ref Area) -- This one-volume reference from CRC Press contains tables of useful data for many forms of chromatography and spectroscopy, as well as other data useful for analytical chemists.

Handbook of Water Analysis    (QD 142 .H36 2000 SEL Ref Area) -- This thorough one-volume reference opens with some chapters on general information and properties of water, but is mainly organized by chapters on specific types of analytes (e.g., pesticides, bacteria, trace elements) in water. Detailed, with good indezxing and bibliographies.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/kirk/)
Also in print at (TP 9 .E685 SEL Ref Area) -- Has good overview articles on both substances and analytical techniques. The Fourth Edition (started 1991) is now complete but the Third Edition (began 1978) may have some articles omitted in the later edition.

Knovel.com (http://www.knovel.com/) -- Knovel provides electronic versions of an extensive collection of reference works in chemistry, including several for analytical chemistry.  Data tables are numerically searchable, and some titles provide interactive tables, graphs and equations.

Techniques of Chemistry    (QD 61 .T4) -- This multi-volume series covers techniques in several areas of chemistry, including some analytical areas. The volumes are individually cataloged on PEGASUS and MELVYL, so a keyword or title-word search in your area of interest should turn up the relevant volumes (e.g. thin-layer chromatography or electron spin resonance.)

Treatise on Analytical Chemistry    (QD 75 .K6 1st ed.; QD 75.2 .K4 1978 2nd ed.) -- These multi-volume sets are very comprehensive. The first edition, begun in 1959, is divided into three parts, on "Theory and Practice" , "Analytical Chemistry of Inorganic and Organic Compounds" and "Analytical Chemistry in Industry". It totals 33 volumes. The second edition has so far only published 12 of the 14 projected volumes of Part 1, and none of Parts 2 or 3. Excellent work, if becoming dated.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry (http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/ueic/index.html)
Also in print at (TP 9 .U57 SEL Ref Area) Volume B5 and part of B6 in this series are Has some very recent, solid overview articles devoted to analytical methods, with good references. See Volumes B5 and part of B6 in the print version.

For books on specific methods, search on the PEGASUS Catalog as described above. Some recent works on specific types of analytical technique are:

Encyclopedia of Chromatography    (QD 79 .C4 E63 2001 SEL Ref Area) -- This one-volume encyclopedia contains brief articles (1-5 pages) by experts in their fields on hundreds of aspects of chromatography. Good indexing.

Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance    (QC 762 .E53 1996 SEL Ref Area) An excellent, highly detailed work on all types of NMR spectroscopy. Check the index for a specific type of NMR you may be interested in, or for specific types of substances; you might also want to look at the general section on quantitative NMR if you are considering NMR as an analytical tool.

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry    (QD 95 .E55 2000 SEL Ref Area)
A three volume reference work from Academic Press. Contains authoritative articles on the history, theory, instrumentation and applications of atomic, electronic, high energy, mass, nuclear magnetic resonance, and vibrational/rotational spectroscopy, with good cross-referencing and bibliographies.

FORENSICnetBASE
Over 220 handbooks from a wide range of areas including books on the analysis of gun residues, explosives, chemical weapons, and forensic DNA analysis. The handbooks are browsable by table of contents, or keyword searchable, either individually or combined.

Handbook of Spectroscopy    (QD 95 .H364 2003 SEL Ref Area) -- This two-volume handbook contains detailed articles by experts in their fields on all aspects of spectroscopy. Volume 1 deals with specific methods, while volume 2 looks at applications (e.g. bioanalysis, environmental analysis, process control.)

In some areas, professional or governmental organizations have issued standard analysis methods. Note that these may not be the very best or latest methods, but they are widely accepted standards.

Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater    (QD 142 .A5 SEL Ref Area) A very useful compendium of detailed methods for analysis of various substances in water. The 20th ed. (1998) is in the reference collection; earlier editions are in the stacks.

Annual Book of ASTM Standards    (TA 401 .A481 SEL Ref Area) The American Society for Testing and Materials publishes a set of widely accepted testing standards, including many for analytical situations. To check this series, look in the index in Volume 00.01, under the various Chemical analysis headings and cross-references. Then go to the Volume and standard number specified.Current volumes are available on CD-ROM.

Official Methods of Analysis of the AOAC    (S 587 .A7) The Association of Official Analytical Chemists (formerly the Association of Official Agricultural Chemists) has been producing this methods handbook for many years. It has detailed standard procedures for sampling and analysis, primarily for food, drugs, pesticides and other agricultural chemicals. The most recent two volume set of binders is in the SEL Ref Area. Not all procedures are printed in each edition; those which have not been revised are referred back to earlier editions. We keep the earlier editions of the series in the main SEL stacks.

OSHA Index of Sampling and Analytical Methods (http://www.osha.gov/dts/sltc/methods/toc.html) This web site contains a searchable and browsable index to the analytical sampling methods used by field hygienists of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

OSHA Chemical Sampling Information (http://www.osha.gov/dts/chemicalsampling/toc/toc_chemsamp.html) This site contains data on compounds frequently sampled for by health and safety personnel.

Review Articles

Many journals dealing with analytical chemistry and its methods publish review articles. Check PEGASUS and MELVYL for the titles of journals in your area of interest if you wish to browse for potential review articles, or use the journal article indexes described below to locate specific topics. One regularly published review series that merits special mention appears in Analytical Chemistry (QD 1 .A56). Each June, this ACS journal devotes an issue to reviewing the recent literature. In odd-numbered years, the review deals with Applications of Analysis; in even-numbered years, it deals with Fundamentals of Analysis. These are an excellent source of up-to-date information.

Articles on Specific Substances or Techniques

SciFinder : SciFinder is an end-user oriented interface to the Chemical Abstracts Service databases: CAPLUS, REGISTRY, CASREACT,and CHEMCATS. Its databases cover the entire literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, conference papers and more, from before 1900 to the present, by far the most comprehensive database of the chemical literature. It may be searched by author, topic, corporate source, chemical name, molecular formula or chemical structure (including substructures and reaction diagrams).

It is available in two versions:SciFinder Web uses a Web browser interface. Users must first register, using a valid ucsb.edu e-mail address. It is compatible with the campus proxy server for off campus use. SciFinder Scholar is a client-server system, which requires installation of the SFS client on the terminal where you wish to use it. The client may be downloaded and installed on any Windows or Mac computer by a UCSB user. In the UCSB Davidson Library, SciFinder is available at selected workstations in the Sciences-Engineering Library (2nd floor North).

BIOSIS (http://isiknowledge.com/biosis): The BIOSIS database indexes the biological sciences literature and is also very useful for finding articles on analysis in biological systems. Try the combination analytical method "substance" "material"; example: analytical method lead hair. BIOSIS on ISI Web of Knowledge covers 1969-present.

HSDB: Hazardous Substances Data Base (http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/cgi-bin/sis/htmlgen?HSDB), frequently contains brief information on analysis of the substance in various media. Search for your target substance either by Chemical Abstracts Registry Number (see below) or by name. Display the primary record for the substance and click on "Laboratory Methods" in the Table of Contents in the left-hand frame. Each piece of information lists the source reference and whether it is peer-reviewed. Note: Not all substances have a "Laboratory Methods" section.

PubMed PubMed (known in other forms as MEDLINE) indexes the world's medical literature, and as such is useful for finding articles on analysis in biological systems. Try the combination of keywords: analysis "substance" "material"; example: analysis amphetamine urine. PubMed covers 1966-present.

Web of Science (Science Citation Index) (http://isiknowledge.com/wos): The Science Citation Index database in Web of Science covers the same journals as Current Contents, plus a few more. It covers 1945-present, and for recent years has searchable abstracts. It also has searchable cited references, so you can track an older reference on an analytical method forward to more recent applications or to other related records. It is only available on campus, from ucsb.edu addresses.