To locate books on your topic, use the new OneSearch Catalog. As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. You are unlikely to find references to a single compound, but may be able to find useful books on classes of compounds, such as carbohydrates, nucleic acids, proteins or enzymes. For more general searches, try a subject search on "biochemistry" or "molecular biology", then browse through the suggested alternative subject headings to see if a more specific one is recommended before browsing the titles under "Biochemistry" itself. Call number ranges for biochemistry include:
Combined Chemical Dictionary (http://www.chemnetbase.com/scripts/ccdweb.exe)
This
database is searchable by chemical name, CAS Registry Number, moleculr
formula, data entry and (with plug-in) by structure. Each compound
entry provides basic physical data, with references to other data,
including methods of preparation. The data is taken from an extensive
series of print encyclopedias; those of interest to biochemists are
listed below. Note that for any given compound, much of the data is
duplicated from one set to the other.
Dictionary of Analytical Reagents SEL Ref QD 77 .D498 1993
Dictionary of Antibiotics SEL Ref RS 431 .A6 D53 1988
Dictionary of Drugs SEL Ref RS 51 .D479 1990
Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 6th ed. SEL Ref QD 251 .D5 1996
Dictionary of Natural Products SEL Ref QD 415 .A25 D53 1994
Dictionary of Organophosphorus Compounds SEL Ref QD 412 .P1 E36 1988
Dictionary of Steroids SEL Ref QP 752 .S7 D53 1991
Dictionary of Terpenoids SEL Ref QD 416 .C75 1991
"Comprehensive" series
These encyclopedic series
from Pergamon Press have excellent review articles covering the breadth
of their subject areas. Titles of interest to biochemists include:
Comprehensive Biotechnology SEL Ref TP 248.2 .C66 1985
Comprehensive Glycoscience SEL Ref QP 701 .C65 2007
Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry SEL Ref RS 402 .C65 1990
Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry II SEL Ref RS 402 .C65 2007
Comprehensive Natural Products Chemistry SEL Ref QD 415 .C63 1999
Comprehensive Supramolecular Chemistry SEL Ref QD 411 .C66 1996 (includes several volumes on biomolecular topics)
Comprehensive Toxicology SEL Ref RA 1199 .C648 1997
Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 3rd ed. SEL Ref QD 415 .A25 B713 1997
A useful one-volume encyclopedia of terms and concepts in biochemistry.
Current Protocols
This
publication is a collection of standard research methods in the
biosciences. They include: step-by-step protocols with annotations that
alert you to special considerations,tips, and optional procedures;
alternate and support protocols to accommodate different equipment and
desired results; materials lists for each protocol; detailed recipes
for reagents, solutions, and culture media; expert commentaries with
troubleshooting instructions, and planning considerations; tables and
figures to clarify complex procedures; and appendices filled with
useful reference material. The protocols are browsable by Table of contents or
keyword searchable with stemming (truncation) and a subject thesaurus.
The online protocols available to UCSB include:
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry SEL Ref QD 415 .A25 E53 2004
Four
volume work with expert articles on very specific topics, including
enzyme families, metabolic diseases, receptors, transporters and much
more.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/book/10.1002/047001590X)
The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences contains articles on all areas of biology, including biochemistry. The online version may be browsed by broad subject areas and article title, or searched full-text. It is available in print at SEL Ref Area QH 302.5 .E53 2002.
Knovel.com (http://www.knovel.com)
Knovel.com provides an extensive collection of reference works in the sciences, including biochemistry. Individual works or the entire collection may be searched by keyword or numerical data. Many works contain enhanced tables, graphs or equations.
New Comprehensive Biochemistry QD 415 .N48
A series of volumes with review articles in a wide variety of areas of
biochemistry. Each volume is individually catalogued in PEGASUS and can
be found with a keyword search for specific topics. UCSB owns volumes
1-40 at present.
Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology SEL Ref QP 514.2 .P73 1989
This
CRC handbook focuses on properties and methods of study of proteins and
amino acids; nucleic acids, nucleosides and nucleotides; lipids, and
some general physical properties.
PubMed/ENTREZ (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/)
This
site allows you to search for articles in the National Library of
Medicine's MEDLINE database, or specialized nucleotide, protein and
genome databases -- an immense amount of biochemistry and molecular
biology information, with powerful search tools.
Studies in Natural Products Chemistry QD 415 .A2 S78 1988
An
ongoing series of volumes of review articles, mainly dealing with
synthesis, but also delving into the biological activity of a wide
variety of natural products. UCSB currently owns volumes 1-18.
Landolt-Bornstein Tables: Biophysics Section (http://www.springerlink.com/content/k43316/) QC 61 .L3 1961 ser. 7 vol. 1A and 1B
This
series of physical property tables has devoted one section to
properties of nucleic acids. There are four subvolumes of Volume 1: 1a
and 1b cover covering crystal structure parameters of nucleic acids, 1c
is spectroscopic and kinetic data, and 1d is theoretical
investigations, and one of Volume 2, on Structural and Physical Data.
We own 1a and 1b in print.
Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes (KEGG) (http://www.genome.ad.jp/kegg/)
The
primary objective of KEGG is to computerize the current knowledge of
molecular interactions; namely, metabolic pathways, regulatory
pathways, and molecular assemblies. At the same time, KEGG maintains
gene catalogs
for all the organisms that have been sequenced and links each gene
product to a component on the pathway. KEGG also organizes a database
of all chemical compounds in living cells and links each compound to a
pathway component. And finally, KEGG aims at developing new
bioinformatics technologies toward functional reconstruction. In
addition, the KEGG site has a good collection of links to other
biochemical Web resources.
Nucleic Acid Database (http://ndbserver.rutgers.edu/)
A variety of structural databases on nucleic acids, developed by the Nucleic Acid Database Project at Rutgers University.
The RNA World (http://www.imb-jena.de/RNA.html)
This
site, from the Institut für Molekulare Biotechnologie - Jena, has links
to a wealth of information on RNA sequences, secondary structures,
folding and 3D structures of RNA.
Prof. Michael Zuker's Website (http://www.bioinfo.rpi.edu/~zukerm/)
Another
rich resource on RNA and DNA secondary structure, including servers for
RNA and DNA folding on which you can input your own sequences.
Nature Encyclopedia of the Human Genome SEL Ref QH 447 .E53 2003
This
five volume work covers a broad range of topics related to the human
genome, from methods in genomics and proteomics, to specific genes and
genetic diseases.
Landolt-Bornstein Tables: Biophysics Section (http://www.springerlink.com/openurl.asp?genre=journal&issn=1616-9581)
This series of physical property tables has begun a section devoted to properties of proteins. There is one subvolume so far: 2a covers structure and physical data in solution for proteins. We do not own this volume in print.
Amino Acids and Peptides SEL Ref QP 561 .A48 1985
Same format at the "Dictionary of" series listed above.
Human Protein Data SEL Ref QP 551 .H845 1992
This loose-leaf volume contains information on the structure, properties and function of a variety of human proteins.
Practical Protein Chemistry: a handbook QP 551 .P65 1986
Protein Data Bank (http://www.rcsb.org/pdb/home/home.do)
The RCSB PDB provides a variety of tools and resources for studying the structures of biological macromolecules and their
relationships to sequence, function, and disease. The RCSB is a member of the wwPDB whose mission is to ensure that the
PDB archive remains an international resource with uniform data. This site offers tools for browsing, searching, and reporting
that utilize the data resulting from ongoing efforts to create a more consistent and comprehensive archive.
ExPASy Proteomics Server (http://ca.expasy.org/)
A collection of several protein sequence and structure databases, assembled by the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics.
Biological Macromolecule Crystallization Database (http://xpdb.nist.gov:8060/BMCD4/)
The
Biological Macromolecule Crystallization Database (BMCD) contains
crystal data and the crystallization conditions, which have been
compiled from literature. The current version of the BMCD includes 3547
crystal entries from 2526 biological macromolecules for which
diffraction quality crystals have been obtained. These include
proteins, protein:protein
complexes, nucleic acid, nucleic acid:nucleic acid complexes,
protein:nucleic acid complexes, and viruses.
Metalloprotein Database (http://metallo.scripps.edu/)
The
Scripps Research Institute's Metalloprotein site Database and Browser
(MDB), is a database that aims to contain quantitative information on
all the metal containing sites available from structures in the PDB
distribution, as well as from in-house (TSRI) structures. This database
contains geometrical, and functional information that allows the
classification and search of particular combinations of site
characteristics, and answer questions such as: "How many mononuclear
zinc containing sites are five coordinate, have a catalytic function?";
and then be able to visualize and manipulate the existing sites. As of
December 03, 1999: the MDB about 3700 macromolecules, with a total of
about 10700 metal-containing sites.
Methods in Enzymology print: QP 601 .C56, online: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/bookseries/00766879
The name of this immense (over 440 volumes as of Sept. 2008, and
growing) series underestimates the breadth and depth of its coverage.
While it contains excellent review articles on methods of all kinds,
especially in enzymology, its articles frequently explore the functions
of the substrates the enzymes act on. Volumes are not arranged by
subject, but are published in semi-random order. Many volumes are
individually cataloged of PEGASUS, and so can be located by a subject
search. Multi-volume subject indexes are published from time to time,
and each volume has a title list of all volumes just after the preface,
so starting with the most recent volume and working backward can be
advantageous. Recently, the entire series from 1955 to the present has
become available online, where you can browse the volumes's Tables of
Contents, or search by keyword within the entire series or any
individual volume.
The Enzymes QP 601 .E5 1970
Twenty volume set, published from 1970 to 1992, edited by Paul Boyer. It is organized primarily by enzyme function.
Enzyme Handbook SEL Ref QP 601 .E5158 2001, 2nd ed.
A
39 volume data collection with nomenclature, structure, function,
reactivity, source and preparation information, organized by EC number.
Enzyme Reference SEL Ref QP 601 .P87 2002
Good one-volume reference work.
Comprehensive Biological Catalysis SEL Ref QP 601 .C738 1998
Four
volume set, focusing on mechanisms of action. Volumes I, II and III
cover electrophilic, nucleophilic and redox reactions respectively.
Volume IV has encyclopedic articles on a variety of related concepts.
Source Book of Enzymes SEL Ref QP 601 .W446 1997
Application and activity information for over 7000 commercially-available enzymes. Organized by EC number.
Enzyme Nomenclature SEL Ref QP 601 .I54 1984
Official nomenclature recommendations of the IUB. For more recent information, see the ENZYME database below.
BRENDA: The Comprehensive Enyzme Information System (http://www.brenda-enzymes.info)
BRENDA
is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the
scientific community. It is available free of charge for academic,
non-profit users via the internet. As available, each enzyme has data
on nomenclature, reactions and specificity, structure, isolation and
preparation, stability and cross-references to sequence databasnks.
Although BRENDA gives a representative overview on the characteristics
and variability of each enzyme the Handbook is not a compendium. The
reader will have to go to the primary literature for more detailed
information.
ENZYME: Enzyme nomenclature database (http://www.expasy.ch/enzyme/)
This
database, part of ExPASy, lets you find information on enzymes using
the Enzyme Commission numbering system and IUBMB nomenclature. You may
search by number, class, description, substrate or product, and
cofactor.
Thermodynamics of Enzyme-Catalyzed Reactions (http://xpdb.nist.gov/enzyme_thermodynamics/enzyme_thermodynamics_data.html)
This NIST site contains a searchable list of data, with references, on enzyme-catalyzed reactions, arranged by E.C. number.
Carbohydrates SEL Ref QP 701 .C294 1987
Same format as the "Dictionary of" series listed above.
SUGABASE (http://www.boc.chem.uu.nl/sugabase/sugabase.html)
SUGABASE
is a carbohydrate-NMR database (proton and 13C) that combines CarbBank
Complex Carbohydrate Structure Data (CCSD) with proton and carbon
chemical shift values. This WWW interface to the database can be used
to perform simple searches for carbohydrate structures and/or NMR data.
The structures are rendered in CCSD format. The NMR data are displayed
as chemical-shift tables.
CARBHYD (http://nte-serveur.univ-lyon1.fr/nte/heyde/www.public.iastate.edu/_pedro/carbhyd/carbhyd.html)
This site originally created at Iowa State University, now available
from the University of Lyon, is a very useful collection of links to
web resources dealing with carbohydrates, including the two links
above.
SWEET (http://www.dkfz-heidelberg.de/spec/sweet2/doc/index.html)
SWEET
(from the University of Heidelberg) is a program for constructing 3D
models of saccharides from their sequences using standard nomenclature.
Porphyrin Handbook SEL Ref QP 671 .P6 P67 2000
Very up-to-date and comprehensive 20-volume work on the chemistry and biochemistry of porphyrins.
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II SEL Ref QD 474 .C65 2004
Volume 8 of this set is devoted to biocoordination chemistry, including excellent review articles on electron transfer
metal complexes, oxygen-binding metalloproteins, metalloenzymes of all sorts, and DNA/RNA-metal complexes.
ReLiBase (http://relibase.ebi.ac.uk/reli-cgi/rll?/reli-cgi/general_layout.pl+home)
The
Receptor/Ligand Database, created by Manfred Hendlich, allows searching
for receptor/ligand complexes from the Protein Data Bank. The free Web
version does not have the full features of ReLiBase+, the commercially
available software, but it is still powerful.
HIC-Up (http://xray.bmc.uu.se/hicup/)
The
Hetero-compound Information Centre - Uppsala provides structures for
common "small molecules" found in biological systems, e.g. heme, ATP,
glucose and many more. Display requires the Chime browser plug-in.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (http://www.ncbi.nih.gov/)
The
premier center in the United States for molecular biology databases.
The structure databases all use the Entrez text searching system.
European Bioinformatics Institute Services (http://www.ebi.ac.uk/services/index.html)
This
site has a large collection of links to databases (most free on the
Web) and software packages useful for nucleic acid and protein
researchers.
SciFinder:
SciFinder is an end-user oriented interface to the Chemical Abstracts
Service databases: CAPLUS, REGISTRY, CASREACT,and CHEMCATS. Its
databases cover the entire literature of chemistry, including journal
articles, patents, conference papers and more, from before 1900 to the
present, by far the most comprehensive database of the chemical
literature. It may be searched by author, topic, corporate source,
chemical name, molecular formula or chemical structure (including
substructures and reaction diagrams).
It is available in two versions:SciFinder Web uses a Web browser interface. Users must first register, using a valid ucsb.edue-mail address. It is compatible with the campus proxy server for off campus use. SciFinder Scholar is a client-server system, which requires installation of the SFS client on the terminal where you wish to use it. The client may be downloaded and installed on any Windows or Mac computer by a UCSB user. In the UCSB Davidson Library, SciFinder is available at selected workstations in the Sciences-Engineering Library (2nd floor North).
Biological Sciences Database: This database, from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, is very strong in biochemistry, and covers 1982 to present.
BIOSIS:
The BIOSIS database indexes the biological sciences literature,
including much biochemistry. BIOSIS online covers 1925-present.
PubChem: Database of compounds, substances and bioassays submitted to the National Library of Medicine from a variety of sources. Searchable by chemical name, structure. Links to articles in PubMed, bioassay information, other biochemical information from other NLM databases.
PubMed PubMed (known in other forms as MEDLINE) indexes the world's medical literature, and as such is useful for finding articles on biochemistry with medical implications. The keywords "chemistry", "metabolism" and/or "pharmacology", combined with names of compounds, classes of compounds or other more specific subject terms, can often be used to home in on articles of biochemical relevance. PubMed covers 1966-present.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index):
The Science Citation Index database in Web of Science covers the same
journals as Current Contents, plus a few more. It covers 1945-present,
and for recent years has searchable abstracts. It also has searchable
cited references, so you can track an older biochemical reference
forward to more recent publications or to other related records. It is
only available on campus, from ucsb.edu addresses.
