Research Guides: World History: Find Articles / Databases

Not Available at CSULB?

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.

You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.

Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.

Start with These

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals, 1740-1900 This link opens in a new window Contains full text facsimile access to over 1,100 popular & scholarly periodicals published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest & general magazines, literary & professional journals, children’s & women’s magazines, & many other historically-significant periodicals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window Features two parts: 1) International Medieval Bibliography with 300,000+ citations of articles, chapters, and proceedings since 1967; 2) Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, indexing books and reviews since 1957. Focuses on European and Mediterranean history from 300-1500 AD.
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EEBO Early English Books Online, 1473 -1700 This link opens in a new window A full text collection of over 100,000 facsimile e-books. Provides full text access to books in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), 1700-1800 This link opens in a new window Access over 180,000 full-text 18th-century titles in various topics, including books, music, and pamphlets. Covers significant English and foreign-language works printed in the UK and thousands from the Americas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window Features rare journals from 1685-1835, shedding light on 18th-century social, political, and literary life. Covers topics from colonial and rural affairs to the French and American revolutions, European literature, fashion reviews, and London coffee house discussions.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective, 1900-1984 This link opens in a new window Identifies 250,000 articles in North American and British books, anthologies, and selected serials. Encompasses subjects like archaeology, art, history, music, psychology, and more. Funded by the CSULB Alumni Association.
- This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Latin American Studies Online This link opens in a new window A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars and edited by the Library of Congress. It covers the social sciences and the humanities dating back to 1936 and includes books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. It is an essential research guide for Latin Americanists.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Indexes the last 60 years of “modern history” (historical scope, post 1450 to date) and covers over 2000 scholarly journals, books, and Ph.D. dissertations . Does not cover the U.S. and Canada (use America History & Life)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window Full text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English published from 1907 – 1984. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Useful for 20th century history & politics.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
L'Année Philologique (Greek and Roman Antiquity) This link opens in a new window Includes 60 years of scholarship on Greco-Roman antiquity, covering history, religion, philosophy, archaeology, and literature. Spanning from the 2nd millennium BCE to the early Middle Ages.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window Readers' Guide Retrospective contains comprehensive indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States published 1890-1982.
- This link opens in a new window
Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text online coverage of the Times (of London, England) from 1785 up until five years ago ( a moving wall). Includes news articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, editorials, obituaries, ads. Many images, maps, graphics and photographs are viewable starting by the 1880s. No coverage of the Sunday Times (of London) is included.

Also Useful

America's Historical Imprints, 1639-1819 This link opens in a new window This is comprised of three component databases: all can be searched simultaneously. American Broadsides & Ephemera, 1760-1900. Provides fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 30,000 broadsides & ephemera. Early American Imprints: Series I, 1639-1800. Is a full text facsimile collection consisting of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets & broadsides. Early American Imprints: Series II, 1801-1819 provides full-text facsimile access to 36,000 American books, pamphlets & broadsides.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window BHA and RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art) cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007
Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1905-1982 This link opens in a new window Book Review Digest Retrospective provides review excerpts and citations for over 300,000 adult and juvenile books, totaling over a million citations. Excludes government publications, textbooks, and technical books in sciences and law.
- This link opens in a new window
Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window One of the most authoritative, encyclopedic resources for the study of fragmentary ancient Greek historians. Updated twice a year.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Persée : Portail de revues en sciences humaines et sociales This link opens in a new window Free access to a wide variety of French-language scientific publications (journals, books, conference proceedings, serials, primary sources, etc.) Persée is maintained by L'Université de Lyon
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides the full-text electronic versions of more than 200 scholarly journals. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*

Google Scholar Search

Tip: Look for GetIt@CSULB, on the right side of the search results, to find the full text of an article.