This is the "Find Articles / Databases" page of the "Social Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Sciences   Tags: science, social_sciences  

Last Updated: Dec 16, 2013 URL: http://csulb.libguides.com/socialsciences Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles / Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching Techniques:

Databases might have different interfaces but they have similar functionality:

AND    Use AND between search terms to narrow a search by including more than one concept, e.g. teen AND pregnancy 


OR      Use OR between search terms to broaden a search by including synonyms for a concept, e.g. (teen OR adolescent) 

" " Use quotation marks to search for a phrase, in the exact order you type it, e.g. “health care reform”. 

Use an asterisk to search for multiple versions of a word, e.g. obes* will allow you to search for obesity and obese.

() Use parentheses when you are using synonyms (see OR above).

 

Finding a Specific Article

1. Citation Linker can help you find out if the library has a full-text online copy of a specific journal article. Enter as much of the following information as possible, and Citation Linker will search our databases to see if we have a copy of the article:

  • Full title of the journal. Do not use a journal abbreviation.
  • Year.
  • Volume.
  • Issue.
  • First page of the article.  

2. If the library has the full text online, you will see a link to the appropriate database.

3. If we only have the article in print, you will see a link to COAST for the location in the library of the print copy. 

4. If we have neither, you will see a link for BeachReach. Request the article through BeachReach and we will get it from another library (no charge) and email it to you, usually within 24 hours to 48 hours.

Start with these!

  • SocINDEX  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Comprehensive sociology research database covering more than 2.1 million records. Coverage: 1940 to present, with some abstracts back to 1895.
  • Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Features a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index. Coverage: 1907 - 1984
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, covering more than 5,300 full text periodicals including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Also useful

  • Criminal Justice Abstracts  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Comprehensive international coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines. Coverage: 1968 to present.
  • EconLit  
      
      Icon  Icon
    The American Economic Association’s electronic database covers virtually every area related to economics and contains more than one million records. Coverage: 1969 to present.
  • Field (California) Polls  
      
      Icon
    Media-sponsored public opinion news service since 1947.
  • General Social Survey  
      
    Provides links to General Social Science Survey data-sets by year.
  • ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)  
      
    Offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Provides information on data access, curation, and methods of analysis.
  • Military & Government Collection  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals along with indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles related to all branches of the military and government.
  • Roper Center for Public Opinion Research  
      
      Icon
    Archive of social science data (1930 to present), specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1963 to present.
  • Web of Science  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals, plus cited reference searches & links to BIOSIS Previews. Coverage: 1956 - present.
 

Getting Full Text of Articles

Looking for Full-Text?

One of the following buttons appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo):

Click the button to search all of CSULB's subscriptions for full text of your article.

For more information, click here.

 

Not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through BeachReach to get full-text of any article. 

You can get to BeachReach from the Get it @CSULB box when you are searching in the databases!

Need more information on BeachReach?  Visit our Interlibrary Services page.

 

Many Thanks

This guide was created by Spring 2011 library intern Katia Karadjova.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip