Research Guides: Earth Science: Find Articles / Databases

Links to Nature, Science, Springer and Wiley journals

SpringerLink Journals Online Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Not Available at CSULB?

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.

You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.

Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.

Start with These Databases

Click on the icon for more information about the coverage or scope of the following databases.

GeoScienceWorld with GeoRef This link opens in a new window GeoRef contains over 3.5 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. GeoScienceWorld has over 45 full text journals, some back to the 1920s. Citations from 1785 to present; full text availability varies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Frequently Cited Journals

This is a brief list of important journals in Geology.

Journal Title	Print Call Number	Electronic Full Text
Geology	QE 1.G528 (1973 to 2005)	(1988 to present)
Sedimentology	QE 581.S44 (1962 to present)	(1997 to present)
Journal of Geology	QE 1.J8 (1934 to 2003)	(1994 to 1 year ago)
Quaternary Science Reviews	n/a	(1995 to present)
Sedimentary Geology	QE 571.S393 (1967 to 1997)	(1995 to present)
Journal of Sedimentary Research	QE 420.J687 (1996 to present)	(1931 to present)
Journal of Sedimentary Petrology	QE 471.J6 (1931 to 1993)	(1931 to present)
Journal of Sedimentary Research. Section B, Stratigraphy and Global Studies	QE 640.J68 (1994 to 1995)	(1931 to present)
Journal of Sedimentary Research. Section A, Sedimentary Petrology and Process	QE 420.J687 (1994 to 1995)	(1931 to present)
Journal of Metamorphic Geology	QE 475.A2.J68 (1986 to 1996)	(1998 to 1 year ago)
Ore Geology Reviews	n/a	(1995 to present)
Geophysical Research Letters	QE 500.G37 (1974 to present)	n/a
Journal of geophysical research: Solid Earth	QC 811.J6232 (1995 to present)	n/a
Limnology and Oceanography	GC 1.L5 (2003 to present)	(1956 to 4 years ago)

Note: Print collections may be on different floors (or in microform) by year. Check OneSearch catalog by the journal title for the exact location of the year you are looking for.

Also Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AAPG Datapages This link opens in a new window Note: The PTTC Tech Place and AAPG Ahead of Print collection articles will show up on the page for searching within the archive, but they are not included with the subscription to the archive search. They are a totally separate collections that AAPG hosts from the archive and both non-subscribers and subscribers can gain access to these collections only through the Datapages pay per view system.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window Access to active and historical American Society for Testing Materials standards as well as ASTM journals, symposia papers (STP) of importance to all disciplines in engineering including the field of safety and health.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Please click on 'Yes, I Agree With the License' to access database
Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window Abstracts and citations from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window Educators and students use our innovative video collections in the JoVE Science Education Library to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window Over 7 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports on all aspects of engineering including civil, computer, mechanical, material, aerospace, electronic, communication, transportation and more. Coverage: 1969 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window With access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry file, SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical resource including references, substances and reactions. Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder.
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required* Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder. Use this link: https://csulb.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1A17FDE8-86F3-5055-53C9-1A6FE77E6868
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Provides articles on the of human impact to the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
- This link opens in a new window

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a Google search engine for articles.