Skip to main content

Mystery & Detective Fiction and Media: Home

This guide is for those with scholarly and/or recreational interests in mystery and detective fiction and media.

Additional Specialized Resources

 

 Cluelass.com and The Mysterious Homepage

Mystery fiction news; the Bloodstained Bookshelf (new releases); the Deadly Directory Online (a comprehensive international guide to the mystery fiction community. Contact information and descriptions for hundreds of booksellers, organizations, publications, events, websites, and more); and the Mysterious Homepage (links, links, and more links!).

Crime Fiction Canada

Developed and maintained by two professors at Brock University, Marilyn J. Rose (English) and Jeannette Sloniowski (Communications, Popular Culture and Film), Crime Fiction Canada offers searchable databases related to the study of detective fiction in English, in Canada, and around the world. Their lists are devoted to: Canadian Crime, Mystery and Detective Fiction in English; Literary Detection; Criticism of Canadia Crime, Mystery and Detective Fiction: Canadian; Criticism of Canadia Crime, Mystery and Detective Fiction -- the Genre in General: Criticism in English from Around the World; Criticism: Crime, Mystery and Detection in Film;Criticism: Crime, Mystery and Detection on Television; The James Gibson Library's Skene=Melvin Collection of Crime, Mystery and Detective Fiction; and Dissertations.

Crime Thru Time

Crime Thru Time is dedicated to Historical Mysteries. It "began as a discussion list and [has] since grown to a web site complete with a book club, series/author book lists, timelines, links, message board, and webring."

Criminal History: For Fans of Historical Crime Fiction

This is an amateur web site for fans and writers of historical crime fiction from the ancient world to the outbreak of World War II. It's main intention is to promote the genre of crime fiction set, or written, in the historical past.

DorothyL: The Official Website

DorothyL is "a discussion and idea list for the lovers of the mystery genre. It was concocted by a group of women librarians at a July 1991 Washington, D.C. meeting of the Association of Research Libraries and named in honor of one of the great women mystery writers of the century. Agatha Christie and Josephine Tey were strong contenders, but Dorothy L. Sayers had a Listserv-blessed middle initial." Go to this site for information, archives,and to find out how to sign up.

Historical Mystery Fiction

Links and lists for authors of historical mystery fiction; historical mysteries divided by time period (Ancient World; Medieval; Renaissance; Regency/Georgian; Victorian; 1900-1919; 1920's; 1930's; 1940's; and Postwar); awards;webrings; fantasy/historical mysteries; historical go international; and historical mysteries for kids.

Stop, You're Killing Me!  A website to die for . . . if you love mysteries

"Stop, You,re Killing Me is a resource for lovers of mystery, crime, thriller, spy, and suspense books. We list over 3,700 authors, with chronological lists of their books (over 41,000 titles), both series (4,200+) and non-series." Use the alphabetical author and character links at the top of the site or the special indexes in the left column. "And it’s perfectly fine with us if you print our pages for your private use, especially for a trip to your local library or bookstore."

Ultimate Mystery/Detective Web Guide

A metasite that claims "3,085 cool links to web mystery/detective author resources" arranged into categories such as authors, book titles, bookstores, games, movies/tv, and more.

Subject Call Numbers

Mystery Collection ~ 2nd floor reading room
(recreational reading collection; arranged A-Z by surname of author of book, or by first word of the title of an anthology)

PN

PR

PS