Banner Image

Ocean Studies / Marine Sciences: Find Articles

Getting the Full Text of an Article

Looking for Full-Text?

One of the following buttons appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo):

Click the button to search all of CSULB's subscriptions for full text of your article.

For more information, click here.

Not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through BeachReach to get full-text of any article. 

You can get to BeachReach from the Get it @CSULB box when you are searching in the databases!

Need more information on BeachReach?  Visit our Interlibrary Services page.

Some Oceanography Journals at CSULB

Additional Resources

Finding Journal Articles at CSULB

The first step in finding scholarly/peer reviewed articles for research is to use a database to find citations of articles that are on your topic. Online databases are listings of articles published in a particular set of journals.
Keep in mind that for academic research you want to stick with scholarly articles published in journals like Advances in Nursing Science as opposed to news type articles in magazines like Newsweek. Some databases will even allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles, also called peer-reviewed, juried, or refereed articles, by checking a box.

The Find Articles/Databases tab of this page gives quick access to online databases useful for biology research.

Once you have selected a database, use keywords to find articles on your topic.  Think of as many words as you can that might appear in articles on your topic.  Try different combinations of these words to see how your list of results changes until you find articles on the results page that look interesting to you.

After you have found citations for articles that seem relevant to your topic you can decide if they are relevant (articles you want) by looking at titles and abstracts (short summaries of the articles) in the database citation.

Search Google Scholar

Recent Articles - Oceanography

From ScienceDirect

Loading