Skip to main content

Creating Permanent Links in BeachBoard: Home

This guides provides directions for linking articles and e-books to BeachBoard using permalinks.

Creating Permanent Links to Articles & E-Books in BeachBoard

Instead of placing articles on reserve at the University Library, or uploading PDFs in BeachBoard, it is possible to imbed a permanent link to the article or e-book in BeachBoardA permanent link, also called a “permalink,” “stable URL,”  "document URL" or a “persistent link,” is a URL that points to a specific web page and remains unchanged indefinitely.  Using permalinks allow faculty more control and allows for easy student access.  It also provides needed journal usage statistics for the Library.

This is a multi-step process. To complete the process you need to:

  • Open BeachBoard.
  • Find and copy the permament link from the database for the needed article.
  • Insert the permanent link and in some cases a proxy URL into the BeachBoard form.

Still need some help?

Still not sure what to do with permanent links and proxy URLS in BeachBeach?  Contact:

Understanding Permalinks

What is a permalink?
A permalink is a URL that is permanent link that will always be the same.  It may also be called a "permanent link" "stable URL,"  "document URL," or a "persistent link" depending on the database you are using.

Why do you need a permalink?

The permalink makes it possible to always find the article, book, etc. using the same Internet address.

How do I find permalinks?
Most research databases include a permalink in the article record.  The terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another.  Click on the tabs above  (Ebsco,  ProQuestArticle from other databases, eBooks)  for instructions on locating the permalinks for the various library electronic resources.

Why would I use a permalink rather than just upload the article into BeachBoard, Google docs, faculty webpages, email or elsewhere?
You may be in violation of copyright law or license restrictions if you post content without appropriate authorization or permission.  Using permalinks is the preferred option.  For more information about copyright law, please see the Copyright and Fair Use LibGuide.  Permalinks are also used to help track statistics.  Usage statistics help the library to purchase the right resources for you.  Finally, using the permalink ensures that the document will always be accessible.

Why do I need to use a Proxy URL when posting articles from some databases into BeachBoard?

Contractual agreements with the database vendors requires that we limit off-campus access to CSULB student, faculty or staff. The proxy URL verifies or "authenticates" that the user is a current CSULB student, faculty, or staff.  As many students will be using BeachBoard from off-campus sites, the proxy URL is required so that users can seamlessly access the Library's electronic resources (eBook, journals)When on campus, the authentication process is transparent because the server recognizes the CSULB IP address. 

 

Subject Guide

Susan Luévano's picture
Susan Luévano