America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876This offers fully searchable, facsimile reproductions of 650 historical American newspapers. Northern & “Old Northwest” newspapers are covered up until 1876. Southern newspaper coverage stops by the 1820s.
A collection of free full text searchable historic newspapers. About 17 California newspapers included.
California Newspaper ArchiveFull text facsimile content of California newspapers from 1846 to date. Includes Long Beach newspapers, 1938-1977, Orange County Register 1913-2016 and many other regional California newspapers.
Produced by the Library of Congress, you can search hundreds of free, full text historic American newspapers up to the early 1920s.
Global NewsstreamU.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
Google has scanned hundreds of thousands of original newspapers from the 1800s to the present.
Historical Chicago Defender, 1905-1975A full text African American newspaper available from 1905-1975. It is important for historical research on civil rights, segregation, African American migration to the industrial states, anti-lynching legislation, and the modern civil rights movement. The Defender also published the works of African American authors, such as Gwendolyn Brooks and Langston Hughes.
Historical Los Angeles TimesFull text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times starting from 1881 to the present, (last 13 years excluded). Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. See also database: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
Historical New York TimesFull text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
Independent Voices: Open Access Alternative Press1950 to Date: An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of libraries. Covers topics related to feminism, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press. Includes LA Free Press and Berkeley Barb
Full text online coverage of the Times (of London, England) from 1785 up until five years ago ( a moving wall). Includes news articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, editorials, obituaries, ads. Many images, maps, graphics and photographs are viewable starting by the 1880s. No coverage of the Sunday Times (of London) is included.
19th Century US Newspapers Digital ArchiveFeatures publications of all kinds, from political party newspapers to major dailies papers published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy.