Skip to main content

Welcome to the CSULB Library!

Welcome to the Beach! Here's how to get started with the University Library.

Library Materials

Search COAST
 

You can search the COAST catalog to find library materials that are in the library (e.g. books, audiobooks, media, government documents, special collections), as well as select electronic resources (e.g. ebooks, government documents). 

Status Loan Period Renewals Allowed Circulation Limits
CSULB Undergraduate Student   21 days     4     50
CSULB Graduate Student   21 days     4     50
CSULB Thesis/Comp Exam/Dissertation Students   end of semester     0     50
CSULB Teaching Associates   120 days     2     100
CSULB Graduate Assistants   end of semester     0     50
CSU Alumni   21 days     4     10

Most media items may be borrowed for seven days and can be renewed as needed.

For more on borrowing privileges, please visit our Circulation page.

Choose a database that fits best to what you're looking for. Academic Search Complete is a great general database that has articles from many different fields and subjects. But if you're doing psychology research, perhaps you may use PsycINFO. Maybe instead of journal articles, you're looking for newspaper articles. In that case, you could use Newsstand

In addition to the above databases, we have many more databases for your research needs!

Start your research by visiting Databases by Topic, which lists the most relevant databases for your class, major, or research interest.

If you are looking for a specific database, visit Databases by Title

If your instructor has put their required course readings on reserve, please visit our Course Reserves page. 

If the call number for the required material is "Reserve (Circ-Desk)", visit our Circulation Desk to retrieve this material. You will need to provide the course name (e.g. BIOL 005) or instructor name. (The Circulation Desk is the front desk that is to your left when you enter the building.)

If the call number is "Reserve (Reference)", these materials can be found in the Reference area behind the Research & Information Desk. (The Research & Information Desk is the desk to your right when you enter the building, in front of the elevators.)

Loading

Getting Research Help

Get drop-in help from a librarian at the Research & Information Services desk! Librarians can help you with a number of your research questions, including:

  • Locating sources for your assignments (e.g. books, articles, encyclopedias)
  • Teaching strategies for using the COAST catalog and databases
  • Assisting with citation styles (e.g. APA, MLA)
  • Providing in-depth research help for research assignments

The R&IS desk is located on the first floor of the library in front of the elevators.

R&IS Desk Hours are as follows:

Days Fall/Spring Semester Winter/Summer Session
Monday-Thursday 10am-7pm 12pm-6pm
Friday 10am-4pm 12pm-3pm
Saturday closed closed
Sunday 12:30pm-6:30pm closed

 

 

Loading

Library Services

Loading

Library Space

Our regular semester hours are:

Monday-Thursday 7am-12am
Friday 7am-5pm
Saturday 10am-5pm
Sunday 12:30pm-12am

Our current hours of the day are also always reflected on our library homepage.

For all hours, including holiday and intersession hours, please visit the University Library Calendar

Check out and return books at the Circulation Desk (near the Library entrance) or you can use one of the 3 Self-Check stations to check out your own books. Self-check stations are located on 2nd floor at the entrance to the book stacks, on 3rd floor just inside the entrance to the study area, and on the 4th floor at the entrance to the book stacks.

Returning Library Materials - Book Drops

Borrowed materials (except those borrowed through BeachReach or through LINK+) may be returned at any of the six library book bins on campus. The map below shows the location of those book drops.

  1. Beach Drive across from Residence Housing (RH2)
  2. Horn Center entrance
  3. State and East Campus Drive Turnaround (near the Science Building)
  4. South Turnaround between Education and Macintosh Buildings
  5. Two book drops at the Library entrance
  6. Parkside Commons Cafeteria Area

Loading