Research Guides: CHLS 100: Find Articles / Databases

Start with these

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Updated daily.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. Coverage is in all subject areas, and includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication.
Coverage: 1965 to present.

Also Useful

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present. GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Citations to scholarly books, to critical articles/essays from scholarly journals and books, and to doctoral dissertations, on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing, world-wide since the 5th century CE. Includes some material on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature as well. Covers 1926 to present. Updated ten times per year.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text This link opens in a new window Includes abstracts and links to articles in journals of anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles since 1940 included.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window The Latino American Experience contains over 200 full-text titles from encyclopedias and biographies, primary documents in English and Spanish, and images documenting the Latino American experience. The database includes treaties, speeches, timelines, classroom lesson plans, and access to vetted websites.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Additional Resources

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also- Includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Latino and Latina writers working in the United States. Covers Nineteenth century to the present, an archive it is not updated.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present This link opens in a new window Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window The Latino American Experience contains over 200 full-text titles from encyclopedias and biographies, primary documents in English and Spanish, and images documenting the Latino American experience. The database includes treaties, speeches, timelines, classroom lesson plans, and access to vetted websites.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window