Research Guides: Journalism & Public Relations: JOUR 318

AP Stylebook

AP Stylebook Online
ISBN: 0606373047

Sports Statistics

Statistics are part of the lifeblood of sports journalism, perhaps even more than in non-sports journalism. They affect team and league decisions and are a big part of how fans (readers) perceive their favorite sports. Here are some sources for sports statistics:

Sports Reference: Free basic stats and advanced analytics

Professional League Statistics

NCAA Stats

Other Sport Statistics Sources (mix of free and paid sources)

Fangraphs for advanced baseball metrics.
Pro Football Focus for advanced NFL metrics.
DKPittsburgh Sports one of the first local sites
Boston Sports Journal
The Athletic owned by the New York Times
Rivals college sports
Sports statistics guide from Northern Arizona University

Capology salary database (soccer)

Over The Cap (NFL)

Baseball Savant

FiveThirtyEight Sports

Scholarly Research

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Updated daily.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Health-related research
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present.Updated quarterly.
SPORT Discus This link opens in a new window Links to articles from sports, physical fitness, physical education, kinesiology, college & university sport, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, recreation, leisure studies, sports law, tourism, health, and more. Includes items back to 1800.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Background

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
California Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Select California newspapers from 1846 to date. Includes Long Beach newspapers 1938-1977, Orange County Register 1913-2016 and many other regional California papers.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Includes Sacramento Bee, Long Beach Press-Telegram and OC Register
Alt-PressWatch, 1965-present This link opens in a new window
A collection of newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters of Alternative and Independent presses.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present This link opens in a new window
Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States.
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window Full text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
From 1875 to five years ago

Public Opinion Polls

iPOLL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. nationwide public opinion with question-level data

Polls on Sports from Jan. 1, 2019 to present.

Campus Publications

Diverse Sources

The Society of Professional Journalists has put together a "Diversity Toolbox" to help journalists improve their reporting. Here are a few highlights from the Toolbox as well as from the Poynter Institute, the American Press Institute, and the Women's Media Center.

How to Find Diverse So urces

Diverse Sources and Perspectives in science, health and the environment

Diversity & Ethics in Sports

TIDES: The Institute for Diversity and Ethics in Sport

"It's Dude Time": A Quarter Century of Excluding Women’s Sports in Televised News and Highlight Shows

Must Reading for Sports Journalists

Sports Journalists Battle for Relevancy: A Nieman Report. In an age of social platforms and celebrity athletes, Bleacher Report, The Players' Tribune, and The Athletic are challenging legacy sports media

What Does It Take to Cover Big Time Sports? Former Associated Press vice president talks about the future of sports journalism.

Journalism & Public Relations: JOUR 318

Sports Journalism