Research Guides: FSCI 101 Franken Food: Fact or Sci Fi: Chapter 1

Fact or Fiction

Chapter 1 Assignment - What you need to do:

Determine whether your argument that the food product you perceived as a frankenfood is credible

1. Your premise: The ingredients you chose and the role of the ingredients in the perceived "Frankenfood" (see supplementary sources)

2. Identify peer-reviewed research related to your premise (learn how here)

3. Use evidence presented in peer-reviewed literature to support or refute your premise using resources from recommended websites or databases

4. Cite your sources

Peer-reviewed, evidence-based literature

Hover your cursor over the flashing numbered buttons to learn more about peer-reviewed materials, its process, and why it's essential for validating your arguement.

Databases

Hover your cursor over the information icon to learn about the databases

Go to the Database Tutorials tab for help

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nutrition and Food Sciences Database This link opens in a new window Covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nutrition Abstracts - Human and Experimental This link opens in a new window NARA covers the latest information on all issues related to food and health and features all aspects of human nutrition, including: techniques, foods, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition. Covers: 1994- . Updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window A database of citations and abstracts of agricultural literature. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970-present. Updated daily.
MEDLINE (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine’s international, biomedicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage = 1951 - current.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's international bio-medicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage: 1951 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window Food Studies Online is interdisciplinary, but is of primary interest to social scientists and students of policy and business. Marketing and consumerism, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology and history.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window With access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry file, SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical resource including references, substances and reactions. Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder.
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required* Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder. Use this link: https://csulb.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1A17FDE8-86F3-5055-53C9-1A6FE77E6868

Websites

Learn how to evaluate online resources here

Science.gov Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
ACEND - Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals committed to improving the nation's health and advancing the profession of dietetics through
more...less...
research, education, and advocacy.
CDC - Centers for Disease and Control and Prevention Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services
EPA - Environmental Protection Agency Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is an independent executive agency of the United States federal government tasked with environmental protection matters
FDA - Food and Drug Administration Food and Drug Administration is a federal agency of the Department of Health and Human Services
FSIS - Food Safety Inspection Service Food Safety Inspection Service issues public health alerts for ready-to-eat meat and poultry products due to possible foreign matter contamination
IFT - Institute of Food Technologists he Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) has been a forum for passionate science of food professionals and technologists to collaborate, learn, and contribute all with the goal of inspiring and transforming
more...less...
collective scientific knowledge into innovative solutions for the benefit of all people around the world. As a scientific community grounded in purpose, IFT feeds the minds that feed the world.
USDA - U.S. Department of Agriculture The USDA helps to keep America's farmers and ranchers in business and ensure that the nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and properly labeled. They also help to
more...less...
ensure the health and care of animals and plants and the health of the land through sustainable management, and they work to improve the economy and quality of life in all of rural America.
USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference Offers access to food descriptions, food group data, nutrient information and a nutrient definition file. Contains a weight file, source code information and a description of measures used.

Supplementary Resources

Overview of Food Ingredients, Additives & Colors
U.S. Food and Drug Administration Overview of Food Ingredients, Additives & Colors
USDA FoodData Central
FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to
more...less...
related agricultural and experimental research.