Research Guides: Journalism & Public Relations: Find Articles / Databases

AP Style Guide

Your Librarian

he/him

Email Me

Subjects: Counseling, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Educational Psychology, Emergency Services Administration, Gerontology, Human Development, Journalism, Library & Information Science, News, Psychology, Social Work

Start with These

Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides thousands of interactive and downloadable data maps, charts, and reports with built-in data indicators related to demographic, economy, health, politics, crime, and environmental information about the United States.
- This link opens in a new window
iPOLL This link opens in a new window U.S. sampling of registered voters on public opinions. Find aggregated question-level data and other survey data only at the national level.
- This link opens in a new window

News Sources

19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Features publications of all kinds, from political party newspapers to major dailies papers published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy.
- This link opens in a new window
Alt-PressWatch, 1965-present This link opens in a new window Articles from independent or alternative newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters that are not mainstream media viewpoints or perspectives. Some coverage back to 1965.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window This offers fully searchable, facsimile reproductions of 650 historical American newspapers. Northern & “Old Northwest” newspapers are covered up until 1876. Southern newspaper coverage stops by the 1820s.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
California Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window Full text facsimile content of California newspapers from 1846 to date. Includes Long Beach newspapers, 1938-1977, Orange County Register 1913-2016 and many other regional California newspapers.
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present This link opens in a new window Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window Hundreds of Spanish-language newspaper articles from 1808 to 1980, with some articles also appearing in English.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window Full text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Defender, 1905-1975 This link opens in a new window A full text African American newspaper available from 1905-1975. It is important for historical research on civil rights, segregation, African American migration to the industrial states, anti-lynching legislation, and the modern civil rights movement. The Defender also published the works of African American authors, such as Gwendolyn Brooks and Langston Hughes.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NewsBank This link opens in a new window Newsbank has 900+ news services. The majority are California news sources with national political magazines, news transcripts and blogs.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Full text online coverage of the Times (of London, England) from 1785 up until five years ago ( a moving wall). Includes news articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, editorials, obituaries, ads. Many images, maps, graphics and photographs are viewable starting by the 1880s. No coverage of the Sunday Times (of London) is included.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Campus Publications

Also Useful for Public Relations Research

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals (over 2,460 full-text titles) covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Summary company records and EDGAR files for over 11,000 U.S. public corporations and 17,000 non-US public companies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

For Legal Research

Westlaw This link opens in a new window Full-text to federal and state cases, statutes, regulations and administrative codes, as well as international law, law encyclopedias, and law reviews. Business news and company legal tax filing information.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window