These databases will help you find articles from a variety of disciplines (History, sociology, sciences, and more!).
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
JSTOR
Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic Diversity Source
Contains resources covering culture, traditions, and the social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
- This link opens in a new window
PRISMA Database
Includes 165 full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
These databases contain academic resources specific to Chicanx/Latinx studies. They include scholarship from a variety of fields that focus on the Chicanx/Latinx experience.
Chicano Database
Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. All subject areas, includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. 1965 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over many links to the full-text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
- This link opens in a new window
LatAm-Estudios Texto Completo
Scholarly journal articles published by universities and institutes in South and Central Latin America, the Caribbean, and Mexico . Majority of the articles are in Spanish but also includes English and Portuguese. Topics include finance, literature, environment, history, law and culture.
- This link opens in a new window
PRISMA Database
Includes 165 full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica Plus
Full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals. Hundreds of quality titles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain cover all major subject areas, including agriculture, economics, history, law, literature, psychology and sociology.
- This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature
Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Latino and Latina writers working in the United States.Covers Nineteenth century to the present, an archive it is not updated.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The databases below contain a mix of primary and secondary sources.
Ethnic Diversity Source
Contains resources covering culture, traditions, and the social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
- This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices: Open Access Alternative Press
1950 to Date: An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of libraries. Covers topics related to feminism, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press. Includes LA Free Press and Berkeley Barb
Latino American Experience
The Latino American Experience contains over 200 full-text titles from encyclopedias and biographies, primary documents in English and Spanish, and images documenting the Latino American experience. The database includes treaties, speeches, timelines, classroom lesson plans, and access to vetted websites.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life
Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The databases below contain ONLY primary sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present
Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Hundreds of Spanish-language newspaper articles from 1808 to 1980, with some articles also appearing in English.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times
Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
These databases focus on specific disciplines such as Sociology, Psychology, Women's Studies, and more!
GenderWatch
40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via EBSCO)
Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text
Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences.Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to scholarly works on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory, dramatic arts, and printing history since the 5th century CE. Also includes rhetoric and teaching practices. Covers 1926 to present, updated ten times yearly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The databases below contain audiovisual resources such as oral histories or videos.
Latin America in Video
Original-language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The videos were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as human rights, violence, immigration, illiteracy, popular culture, and political history. The first of its kind, the collection’s materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
