BIOL Biological Sciences Subject Guide: Books, eBooks & Media
A guide for finding biology information to support your academic research and coursework
Books, eBooks & Media
Discover a variety of resources, including books, eBooks, streaming media, and curated biology topics, to support your research and learning needs.
Find Books / eBooks
Search the Library Catalog with OneSearch
OneSearch is your gateway to explore books, eBooks, streaming media, journal articles, and more!
For tips and tutorials, visit the "Help with OneSearch" link below the search box on the library's homepage.
Explore Key Topics in Biology
Explore Key Topics in Biology
Access curated OneSearch links for top Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) in key biological fields.
- Biology (General) -Introductory resources and overviews of the field.
-
Microbiology - Focus on microorganisms, infectious diseases, and environmental biology.
-
Genetics - Study of genes, heredity, and genetic variation.
-
Botany - Research on plants, their structure, and ecological roles.
-
Zoology - Explore animal anatomy, behavior, and evolution.
-
Ecology - Study interactions between organisms and their environments.
-
Evolution - Resources on evolutionary theory and the history of life.
-
Biochemistry - Investigate chemical processes in living organisms.
-
Molecular Biology - Research DNA, RNA, gene expression, and regulation.
-
Biotechnology - Explore innovations in medicine, agriculture, and technology.
Streaming Media Collections
Streaming Media
Access online audio and video for CSULB students and faculty.
- Search by Title: Find specific titles in OneSearch (Books & Media).
- Browse Collections: Access streaming collections via this guide.
- Search Within Collections: Locate songs or videos in OneSearch or specific databases.
- Full List: Visit the University Library's streaming media page.
- Academic Video Online More than 48,000 streaming videos in dozens of subject areas, including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music and film, from producers such as A&E, BBC, Bloomberg, HBO, PBS, Teachers TV, and VideoFashion News. Also includes tools to create custom playlists and learning segments.
- Films on Demand More than 20,000 streaming films in 24 subject areas from major producers, including ABC News, BBC, Frontline, National Geographic, NBC News, NOVA, and PBS.
- LinkedIn Learning Business, software, technology and creative skills training from a leading online learning company. Brush up on existing skills or learn new subjects. High-quality, current, and engaging video tutorials taught by recognized industry experts.
- TED Talks - Films on Demand More than 1,000 of the talks presented at the semi-annual TED Conferences.
- Education in Video This multi-volume collection contains more than 1,650 hours of video that gives education students a reliable way to observe the intricacies of behavior that define effective teaching styles.
- Environmental Issues Online Brings together multimedia materials around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
- Food Studies Online Food Studies Online is interdisciplinary, but is of primary interest to social scientists and students of policy and business. Marketing and consumerism, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology and history.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos Streaming video service with more than 26,000 films including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- SAGE Research Methods Video This collection contains videos covering a range of methods needed to carry out effective market research, from traditional techniques to new developments in the field.
- Swank Streaming over 100 major motion pictures that are the most-requested feature films for curriculum support. Students, faculty and staff are able to stream the movies and faculty may link the movies in Canvas and/or show during class.
eBooks
eBook Databases
Premium eBook databases to support research, studying, or just reading for pleasure.
- Skillsoft Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles. Allows up to 6 simultaneous users.
- Ebook Central (from ProQuest) More than 80,000 academic e-books in 16 subject categories (Formerly called eBrary)
- eBook Collection from EBSCO Full-text, searchable electronic books. Books can only be read online. However, mindful of copyright laws, texts may be printed out or copied in part using browser functions.Coverage: Most books are pre-2003. Also provides access to 3,500 older, "public domain" works that may be several hundred years old.
- Oxford Reference Online More than 2 million entries from hundreds of cross-searchable Oxford encyclopedias and other reference books, many of which are illustrated.
- Gale eBooks A collection of about 900 encyclopedias and other reference books from several publishers across many disciplines that can be searched at one time.
- Libby (previously Overdrive) Popular ebooks and audiobooks that you can read and listen to through the Libby app on your personal device.
- O'Reilly Learning Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
Free eBooks
Access a wide range of eBooks online, from classics to contemporary titles across various genres.
- Project Gutenberg roject Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.
- Bookshelf From Bookshelf’s Browse Titles page you may view all of Bookshelf’s titles by title, first author/editor, publisher, publication year or type, or begin searching across the entire resource. You may browse and search across all content, or one book at a time. By clicking on a book’s cover image or hyperlinked title, you may access an individual publication’s Table of Contents page, from which you can begin browsing or searching the contents of that particular book. Search results will be displayed on a separate page and organized by relevance (see Displaying Your Search Results). For a quick look at Bookshelf and its features, also visit the Tutorials page.
- National Academies Press The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
- ManyBooks ManyBooks was established in 2004 with the vision to provide an extensive library of books in digital format for free on the Internet. Many of the early eBooks are from the Project Gutenberg archives, which means you will be able to find a lot of classics on the site. Over a decade later, we are still going strong in our mission to provide a valuable service to our readers. ManyBooks has grown into a platform where self-publishing authors have the opportunity to introduce their work to our community and new books are uploaded to our site daily - provided they comply to our quality standards.
Google Books
Search the full text of books scanned by Google, some are available free on the web, others we may have here in the library (Search the title in OneSearch).