Research Guides: Library resources for engineering faculty: Databases

Databases in Engineering and related fields

NASA Tech Reports Server

Agricultural and Environmental Science Database
GeoScienceWorld with GeoRef
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet
- This link opens in a new window
Military & Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Web
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required* Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder. Use this link: https://csulb.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1A17FDE8-86F3-5055-53C9-1A6FE77E6868
PubMed@CSULB
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect
Scitation (AIP)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Patents and Trademarks
by Khue Duong Last Updated Mar 2, 2020 22 views this year

Database Examples: Web of Science and Compendex

Web of Science (WoS) can be used to conduct a traditional “literature review” on a topic and is particularly useful for multidisciplinary research. The database is also the standard tool for cited reference searching. Web of Science primarily indexes the core journals in a field and is very useful for inter-disciplinary research.

Use WoS to find out:

Who has cited your paper?
How many times has your paper been cited?
The most cited paper in your field
Create a citation alert to your articles (need to register)

In addition, we can search WoS to support grant proposals:

Find out what type of research has been funded (e.g. by NSF)
Find out what NSF has funded at CSULB (tip: CSULB zip 90840 can be searched)
Find collaborators nationally/internationally or even at CSULB!
Procide support for a grant application by showing evidence of previous performance

Here is more information from the Web of Science website

Compendex is the main database for engineering:

Journal articles, conference papers, technical reports in all disciplines in engineering
Scopus cited references
Set up alerts on research topics (need to register to do this)

Library Subscribed Auto-Alerting

Auto-Alerting/TOC for Library Subscribed Databases
These library subscribed databases provide current awareness tools. This is not an exhaustive list, if you have a favorite database, look around for email alerts and you will probably find a place to sign up.

American Chemical Society (ACS)
more... less...

Register free for either or both of the American Chemical Society's alerts.
ASAP Alerts give e-mail notification of articles approved for publication but not published yet.
Table of Contents Alerts for the over 30 ACS journals and receive e-mail notification when a new ACS journal issue is published.
Engineering Village
more... less...

Register for a Personal Account. When you have run your search, go into Search History. Check the box labeled "Email Alert" next to your search, and you will be automatically emailed when any records are added to the database which match your search criteria.
Royal Society of Chemistry
more... less...

Use this form to register for email alerting services from RSC Publishing (including Journal Table of Contents alerts).
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
more... less...

Save searches
Create Search Alerts, Volume/Issue Alerts and Citation Alerts
Create a Favorite Journal and Book List which you can browse and search
Springer
more... less...

SpringerAlerts
Register and create a profile to have the table of contents from almost 700 titles journals, and for new products, announcements, and newsletters in your field of interest. Broad subject areas can be refined. Journal TOCs can be requested individually by title, or, by broad subject areas.

Web of Science

Wiley Interscience
more... less...

Register and sign up to receive email alerts of Tables of Contents from over 300 Wiley Journals, or Saved Search Alerts, to receive notice when new articles meeting your search criteria are published in Wiley journals. Search criteria can be based on keywords, author name, author affiliation, etc.

For information on more ways to keep up with research in your field, please consult our page on Current Awareness