Recommended Databases
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window A database of citations and abstracts of agricultural literature. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970-present. Updated daily.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Provides critical reviews of over fifty science, medicine, and social science topics. Reviews include what is supported, what is controversial and presents historical context and highlights the major questions that remain. Some coverage back to 1932.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases; when articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Coverage: Medline covers 1940's to present. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Web of Science includes the Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions can be found in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new window The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest (back to 1864) continuing database of animal biology where you can determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species, track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes and keep up all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More Research Databases
- ACS Web Editions This link opens in a new window Full text of all years of 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society. Coverage: 1971 to date. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new window Birds of the World is a powerful research database that brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.
- This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Provides articles on the of human impact to the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also- Includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's international bio-medicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage: 1951 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine’s international, biomedicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage = 1951 - current.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Public Library of Science (PLoS) This link opens in a new window The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a collection of full-text online science journals. Includes One, Biology, Medicine, Computational Biology, Genetics, Pathogens, Neglected Tropical Diseases. All of PLoS journals are free and open to the public. 2003-Present
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It is not a journal publisher. Access to PubMed Central (PMC) is free and unrestricted. The currency and age of material in PubMed Central varies by journal.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window With access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry file, SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical resource including references, substances and reactions. Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder.
- This link opens in a new window
- SORA - Searchable Ornithological Research Archive This link opens in a new window SORA is an open access electronic journal archive that provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
- This link opens in a new window
- TAIR (The Arabidopsis Information Resource) This link opens in a new window The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana
- This link opens in a new window
- TOXLINE This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Protocols and Methods Databases
- JoVE Biology This link opens in a new window Includes video articles on general biology research methodologies in cell, molecular, and organismal biology, ranging from new applications of standard techniques to novel approaches aimed at understanding the functions of life and living organisms.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- JoVE Bioengineering This link opens in a new window JoVE Bioengineering merges both physical and life sciences to understand and predict biological processes. Applying physical science tools to life science questions allow for the discovery of better technologies to measure, diagnose, and clinically treat disease.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- JoVE Developmental Biology This link opens in a new window JoVE Developmental Biology includes methods for the study of biological development at all levels, from cellular to whole organisms. Specific topics include gametogenesis and fertilization, embryogenesis, morphogenesis and organogenesis, stem cell biology and nuclear reprogramming, regeneration and repair, mechanisms of differentiation, genetic and epigenetic control of development, evolutionary developmental biology, aging and senescence.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- JoVE Neuroscience This link opens in a new window JoVE Neuroscience includes methods and techniques for studying the brain and nervous system; also featuring potential treatments for neurological conditions and diseases.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window Educators and students use our innovative video collections in the JoVE Science Education Library to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General Research Databases
- Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities in a variety of subject areas: History ,The Arts , Social Sciences , Literature & Language. Many are full-text, others can be requested through BeachReach. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (those produced within the last six months) may not be available online. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- SpringerLink Journals Online Collection This link opens in a new window SpringerLink consists of over 1,000 electronic journals from scientific, technical and medical disciplines. Coverage: 1997-present Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides thousands of interactive and downloadable data maps, charts, and reports with built-in data indicators related to demographic, economy, health, politics, crime, and environmental information about the United States.
- This link opens in a new window
