Research Guides: BIOL 153 Intro to Marine Biology &amp; BIOL 353 Marine Biology: Marine Biology and Oceanography Journals

Marine Biology and Oceanography Journals

Marine Biology and Oceanography Journals

Explore links to key journals in marine biology for direct access to leading research and scholarly articles, facilitating targeted discovery of groundbreaking studies.

Marine Biology and Ecology

Marine Biology Marine Biology publishes original and internationally significant contributions from all fields of marine biology. Special emphasis is given to articles which promote the understanding of life in the sea, organism-environment interactions, interactions between organisms, and the functioning of the marine biosphere. While original research articles are the backbone of Marine Biology, method articles, reviews and comments are also welcome, provided that they meet the same originality, importance and quality criteria as research articles. Articles of exceptional significance are published as highlight articles. They are accompanied by an editorial comment, and they are promoted in social media. Aspects of particular interest include: marine biogeochemistry ecology of marine populations and communities marine ecophysiology behavioural biology of marine organisms development and life cycles of marine organisms biochemistry and physiology of marine organisms evolution of marine organisms population genetics of marine organisms marine conservation technology developments in marine biology Irrespective of the area, preference will be given to articles contributing to the advancement of growing research areas and/or the solution of present day theoretical debates.
Coral Reefs
Microbial Ecology Description: Microbial ecology lies at the heart of functioning for almost every ecosystem on the planet, from the deep-sea vents and subsurface systems to human and animal well-being; from pristine marine and terrestrial environments to industrial bioreactor functioning. Microbial Ecology provides a dedicated international forum for the presentation of high-quality scientific investigations of how microorganisms interact with their biotic and abiotic environments, with each other as well as with their neighbors and hosts, to carry out their diverse functions. Microbial Ecology offers articles of original research in full paper and note formats, as well as brief reviews and topical position papers. Coverage includes the ecology of microorganisms in natural and engineered environments; genomic and molecular advances in understanding of microbial interactions and phylogeny; microbial drivers of biogeochemical processes; inter- and intraspecific microbial communication; ecological studies of animal, plant and insect microbiology and disease; microbial processes and interactions in extreme or unusual environments; microbial population and community ecology, and more.
Marine Biotechnology
Fish & Shellfish Immunology Fish and Shellfish Immunology rapidly publishes high-quality, peer-refereed contributions in the expanding fields of fish and shellfish immunology. It presents studies on the basic mechanisms of both the specific and non-specific defense systems, the cells, tissues, and humoral factors involved, their dependence on environmental and intrinsic factors, response to pathogens, response to vaccination, and applied studies on the development of specific vaccines for use in the aquaculture industry.
Harmful Algae This journal provides a forum to promote knowledge of harmful microalgae and macroalgae, including cyanobacteria, as well as monitoring, management and control of these organisms. Both original research and review papers will be considered. Papers dealing with the following aspects of harmful microalgae and cyanobacteria in marine and fresh waters will be considered: • The distribution, life histories and taxonomy of harmful microalgae; • The physiology and toxicology of harmful microalgae; • Harmful microalgal bloom ecology; • Trophic, socio-economic, public health and aquacultural impacts of harmful microalgal bloom events; • Occurrence, methods of detection and chemical structure of toxins in harmful microalgae, cyanobacteria, foodwebs and seafood; • Factors controlling toxin production, biosynthesis and chemical ecology
Aquatic Toxicology Aquatic Toxicology publishes original scientific papers dealing with the mechanisms of toxicity and the responses to toxic agents in aquatic environments at the community, species, tissue, cellular, subcellular and molecular levels, including aspects of uptake, metabolism and excretion of toxicants. The aim of the journal is to increase our understanding of the impact of toxicants on aquatic organisms and ecosystems. Studies with aquatic model systems that provide fundamental mechanistic insight to toxic effects on organisms in general are also welcome. Both laboratory and field studies will be considered. The mechanistic focus includes genetic disturbances and adaptations to environmental perturbations, including the evolution of toxicant responses; biochemical, physiological and behavioural responses of organisms to toxicants; interactions of genetic and functional responses, and interactions between natural and toxicant-induced environmental changes. The bioaccumulation of contaminants is considered when studies address mechanisms influencing accumulation. Ecological investigations that address reasons, possibly also considering their genetic and physiological aspects, for toxicant-induced alterations of aquatic communities or populations are suitable.
Advances in Marine Biology
Inter-Research Diseases of Aquatic Organisms The leading journal in its field, DAO covers all aspects of disease phenomena in aquatic organisms. It strives for the highest possible quality, quick publication, and a premium standard of technical presentation.

Oceanography and Environmental Sciences

Oceanography irst published in July 1988, Oceanography is the official magazine of The Oceanography Society. It contains peer-reviewed articles that chronicle all aspects of ocean science and its applications. In addition, Oceanography solicits and publishes news and information, meeting reports, hands-on laboratory exercises, career profiles, book reviews, and shorter, editor-reviewed articles that address public policy and education and how they are affected by science and technology. We encourage submission of short papers to the Breaking Waves section that describe novel approaches to multidisciplinary problems in ocean science. Special issue sections of the magazine cover major ocean science programs or themes. Information about how to get a special issue on the calendar can be found here. Articles in the special issue section are invited by guest editors. Oceanography is published in March, June, September, and December in online and paper format. Articles are posted online immediately upon publication with full access to all content. Please refer to our permissions page for information about content usage.
Journal of Physical Oceanography The Journal of Physical Oceanography (JPO) publishes research related to the physics of the ocean and to processes operating at its boundaries. Observational, theoretical, and modeling studies are all welcome, especially those that focus on elucidating specific physical processes. Papers that investigate interactions with other components of the Earth system (e.g., ocean–atmosphere, physical–biological, and physical–chemical interactions) as well as studies of other fluid systems (e.g., lakes and laboratory tanks) are also invited, as long as their focus is on understanding the ocean or its role in the Earth system.
Ocean Modeling The main objective of Ocean Modelling is to provide rapid communication between those interested in ocean modelling, whether through direct observation, or through analytical, numerical or laboratory models, and including interactions between physical and biogeochemical or biological phenomena. Because of the intimate links between ocean and atmosphere, involvement of scientists interested in influences of either medium on the other is welcome. The journal has a wide scope and includes ocean-atmosphere interaction in various forms as well as pure ocean results. In addition to primary peer-reviewed papers, the journal provides review papers, preliminary communications, and discussions. Authors are invited to submit datafiles, model animations or other electronic-only information in support of their submission.
Ocean Science Ocean Science Journal (OSJ) is an international journal whose aim is to achieve the advancement and dissemination of information in the field of oceanography. The journal is committed to the publication of original research articles, reviews and notes on all fields of oceanography including physical oceanography, biological oceanography/marine biology, chemical oceanography/marine chemistry, geological oceanography/marine geology, and marine pollution. Ocean Science covers the following fields: physical oceanography: waves, currents, air-sea interaction, ocean modeling, coastal processes, water masses biological oceanography/marine biology: plankton, benthic organisms, fish, ecology, taxonomy, molecular biology) chemical oceanography/marine chemistry: Trace elements, Isotopes, Nutrients, Organic substances, Gases geological oceanography/marine geology: geophysics, sedimentology, paleontology, paleogeopraphy, sediment dynamics marine pollution: pollutants analysis and monitoring, fates of contaminants, aquatic toxicology, ecotoxicology
Marine Chemistry Marine Chemistry is an international medium for the publication of original studies and occasional reviews in the field of chemistry in the marine environment, with emphasis on the dynamic approach. The journal endeavours to cover all aspects, from chemical processes to theoretical and experimental work, and, by providing a central channel of communication, to speed the flow of information in this relatively new and rapidly expanding discipline.
ICES Journal of Marine Science About the Journal The ICES Journal of Marine Science publishes original articles, opinion essays (“Food for Thought”), visions for the future (“Quo Vadimus”), and critical reviews that contribute to our scientific understanding of marine systems and the impact of human activities on them. The Journal also serves as a foundation for scientific advice across the broad spectrum of management and conservation issues related to the marine environment. Oceanography (e.g. productivity-determining processes), marine habitats, living resources, and related topics constitute the key elements of papers considered for publication. This includes economic, social, and public administration studies to the extent that they are directly related to management of the seas and are of general interest to marine scientists. Integrated studies that bridge gaps between traditional disciplines are particularly welcome.
Marine Petroleum Geology Marine and Petroleum Geology is the pre-eminent international forum for the exchange of multidisciplinary concepts, interpretations and techniques for all concerned with marine and petroleum geology in industry, government and academia. Rapid bimonthly publication allows early communications of papers or short communications to the geoscience community. Marine and Petroleum Geology is essential reading for geologists, geophysicists and explorationists in industry, government and academia working in the following areas: marine geology; basin analysis and evaluation; organic geochemistry; reserve/resource estimation; seismic stratigraphy; thermal models of basic evolution; sedimentary geology; continental margins; geophysical interpretation; structural geology/tectonics; formation evaluation techniques; well logging.

Conservation and Biodiversity

Annual Review of Marine Science
Freshwater Biology Freshwater Biology publishes papers on all aspects of the ecology of inland surface waters, including rivers and lakes, connected ground waters, flood plains and other freshwater wetlands. We publish studies of micro-organisms, algae, macrophytes, invertebrates, fish and other vertebrates, as well as those concerning whole systems and related physical and chemical aspects of the environment. Manuscripts with an experimental or conceptual flavour are especially welcome, as are those which integrate laboratory and field work, and studies from less well researched areas of the world.
Limnology and Oceanography Limnology and Oceanography (L&O) publishes research articles, reviews, and comments about all aspects of limnology and oceanography. The journal’s unifying theme is the understanding of aquatic systems. Submissions are judged on their originality and intellectual contribution to the fields of limnology and oceanography. Site-specific studies, laboratory experiments, and modeling exercises will be considered only to the extent they contribute to a broader understanding of aquatic sciences.
Fish and Fisheries Fish and Fisheries adopts a broad, interdisciplinary approach to the subject of fish biology and fisheries. It draws contributions in the form of major synoptic papers and syntheses or meta-analyses that lay out new approaches, re-examine existing findings, methods or theory, and discuss papers and commentaries from diverse areas. Focal areas include fish palaeontology, molecular biology and ecology, genetics, biochemistry, physiology, ecology, behaviour, evolutionary studies, conservation, assessment, population dynamics, mathematical modelling, ecosystem analysis and the social, economic and policy aspects of fisheries where they are grounded in a scientific approach. A paper in Fish and Fisheries must draw upon all key elements of the existing literature on a topic, normally have a broad geographic and/or taxonomic scope, and provide general points which make it compelling to a wide range of readers whatever their geographical location. So, in short, we aim to publish articles that make syntheses of old or synoptic, long-term or spatially widespread data, introduce or consolidate fresh concepts or theory, or, in the Ghoti section, briefly justify preliminary, new synoptic ideas. Please note that authors of submissions not meeting this mandate will be directed to the appropriate primary literature.

Find Journals

Find Journals

Pinpoint specific journals by title or subject, utilizing the following resources. This section offers a streamlined approach for identifying key journals and obtaining detailed periodical information, helping you evaluate journal impact through citation data.

Journal Search
Locate specific journals by title or subject

Use Cabells to identify academic journals and journal information for publishing, in addition to a suite of tools for manuscript preparation, and metrics to help users find the right journal.

Cabells Journalytics and Predatory Reports This link opens in a new window Find academic journal information for publishing research with Cabells suite of tools for identifying over 11,000 academic journals, tools for identifying predatory journals, manuscript preparation tools, and a suite of metrics to help users find the right journals.
- This link opens in a new window

Locate highly ranked journals

Journal Citation Reports (InCites) This link opens in a new window Allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Citation data on journals in virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window

Use Ulrichsweb for an easy-to-search source of detailed information on academic and scholarly journals

Ulrichsweb (Ulrich's) This link opens in a new window Ulrich's™ provides comprehensive bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals, including type of periodical, frequency of publication, format, ISSN, subject and LC classifications and price information.
- This link opens in a new window