Research Guides: FSCI Food Science Subject Guide: Recommended Databases

Food Science Databases

Recommended Databases

Nutrition Abstracts - Human and Experimental This link opens in a new window NARA covers the latest information on all issues related to food and health and features all aspects of human nutrition, including: techniques, foods, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition. Covers: 1994- . Updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Web of Science includes the Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions can be found in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nutrition and Food Sciences Database This link opens in a new window Nutrition and Food Sciences is a specialist internet resource that gathers together research, reviews and news on nutrition and the food sciences in an easily searchable database. It covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behaviour, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window A database of citations and abstracts of agricultural literature. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970-present. Updated daily.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases; when articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Coverage: Medline covers 1940's to present. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It is not a journal publisher. Access to PubMed Central (PMC) is free and unrestricted. The currency and age of material in PubMed Central varies by journal.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

More Research Databases

ACS Web Editions This link opens in a new window Full text of all years of 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society. Coverage: 1971 to date. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window Search over 7 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports on all aspects of engineering including civil, computers, mechanical, materials, aerospace, electronics, communications, transportation and more. Coverage: 1969 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's international bio-medicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage: 1951 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine’s international, biomedicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage = 1951 - current.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window With access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry file, SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical resource including references, substances and reactions. Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder.
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required* Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder. Use this link: https://csulb.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1A17FDE8-86F3-5055-53C9-1A6FE77E6868
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

General Research Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities in a variety of subject areas: History ,The Arts , Social Sciences , Literature & Language. Many are full-text, others can be requested through BeachReach. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (those produced within the last six months) may not be available online. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides thousands of interactive and downloadable data maps, charts, and reports with built-in data indicators related to demographic, economy, health, politics, crime, and environmental information about the United States.
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink Journals Online Collection This link opens in a new window SpringerLink consists of over 1,000 electronic journals from scientific, technical and medical disciplines. Coverage: 1997-present Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Free Database Organized by Subject

Free Databases