Research Guides: NUTR Nutrition &amp; Dietetics Subject Guide: Find Articles

Search Strategies

Welcome to Find Articles – your essential hub for exploring scientific research articles. Here, you'll discover a selection of databases and strategic search tips to streamline your research.

Search Tips for Efficient Database Searching

Specific Keywords: Choose precise terms related to your topic, like Gut Microbiome and Nutrition

Combine Keywords: Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to refine searches, e.g., "Gut Microbiome" AND Nutrition

Synonyms and Related Terms: Expand your search with related terms or synonyms, such as using ("Gut Microbiome" OR "gastrointestinal microbiota") AND (Nutrition OR "Dietary Impact")

Selecting & Using Keywords

Narrow Your Topic to Specific Keywords and Phrases

Selecting and using keywords effectively is crucial for strategic exploration in research. This section guides you through the process of developing and refining keywords to enhance the precision and breadth of your search results.

Watch the video Selecting & Using Keywords

Databases

Explore the curated selection of Nutrition & Dietetics Research Databases

General Science Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window A database of citations and abstracts of agricultural literature. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970-present. Updated daily.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window Abstracts and citations from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ACS Web Editions This link opens in a new window Full text of all years of 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society. Coverage: 1971 to date. 
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Web This link opens in a new window With access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry file, SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical resource including references, substances and reactions. Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder.
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required* Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder. Use this link: https://csulb.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1A17FDE8-86F3-5055-53C9-1A6FE77E6868
SpringerLink Journals Online Collection This link opens in a new window SpringerLink consists of over 1,000 electronic journals from scientific, technical and medical disciplines. Coverage: 1997-present Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Health & Medicine Databases

Nutrition Abstracts - Human and Experimental This link opens in a new window NARA covers the latest information on all issues related to food and health and features all aspects of human nutrition, including: techniques, foods, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition. Covers: 1994- . Updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It is not a journal publisher. Access to PubMed Central (PMC) is free and unrestricted. The currency and age of material in PubMed Central varies by journal.
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Access to over 1400 online journals from publisher Wiley-Blackwell in the fields of science, technology, engineering, medicine, mathematics, computer science, business, education, environmental science, humanities, law, and psychology. Full page images are available in PDF format and, in some cases, full text in HTML format is also available.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of 6 databases that provide reliable and up-to-date information about the effects of health care treatments (interventions) and prevention and 2 additional databases that describe the Cochrane Collaboration as an organization. Much of the information is presented in the form of systematic reviews (Cochrane reviews) for practitioners, patients and policy makers. Coverage: 1996 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window PsycArticles is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycArticles database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 53 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage: 1985 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window A collection of evidence-based content that provides practicing nurses with instant access to online references at the point of care. Allows users to identify the information they need by topic or category.
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's international bio-medicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage: 1951 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine’s international, biomedicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included. Coverage = 1951 - current.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Specialized Resources

Nutrition and Food Sciences Database This link opens in a new window Covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window Food Studies Online is interdisciplinary, but is of primary interest to social scientists and students of policy and business. Marketing and consumerism, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology and history.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides thousands of interactive and downloadable data maps, charts, and reports with built-in data indicators related to demographic, economy, health, politics, crime, and environmental information in the USA.
- This link opens in a new window

Free Databases

Free Databases

Streaming Media

Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window More than 800 streaming video documentaries in more than 25 academic subject areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education in Video This link opens in a new window This multi-volume collection contains more than 1,650 hours of video that gives education students a reliable way to observe the intricacies of behavior that define effective teaching styles.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window More than 20,000 streaming films in 24 subject areas from major producers, including ABC News, BBC, Frontline, National Geographic, NBC News, NOVA, and PBS.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TED Talks - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window More than 1,000 of the talks presented at the semi-annual TED Conferences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window Streaming video service with more than 26,000 films including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window Contains documentaries and series featuring diverse content in science, culture, history, art, literature, business, economics and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Swank This link opens in a new window Streaming over 100 major motion pictures that are the most-requested feature films for curriculum support. Students, faculty and staff are able to stream the movies and faculty may link the movies in Canvas and/or show during class.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window More than 48,000 streaming videos in dozens of subject areas, including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music and film, from producers such as A&E, BBC, Bloomberg, HBO, PBS, Teachers TV, and VideoFashion News. Also includes tools to create custom playlists and learning segments.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Theses and Dissertations

Locate dissertations or theses from CSULB and other institutions

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Provides free access to thousands of dissertation and thesis abstracts from universities around the world, and links to full text when freely available.

EBSCO Open Dissertations
Search thousands of open access dissertations
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Our website includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.

Cited Reference & Bibliographic Searching

Cited Reference Searching

Enhance your research with citation-linking tools for in-depth topic exploration. Utilize Web of Science for locating articles citing known works and discover further through the "Times Cited" feature. Expand your search with Google Scholar's citation-linking for finding articles that cite your source. Dive deeper into the citation network to connect with referenced works and authors, ensuring a comprehensive understanding of your subject area.

Watch the Videos Below to Learn How

Web of Science - How to do a Cited Reference Search

Google Scholar Citation Linking

Evaluate & Improve Search Results

Refining Your Search Results: Evaluate and Improve

This section merges critical evaluation techniques with strategies for improving your searches, guiding you towards more relevant, high-quality information. Whether you're encountering too many results or too few, the tips below will help you adjust your search to better align with your research needs. Learn how to fine-tune your search results to ensure they align closely with your research needs!

Evaluate Your Search Results:

When You Have Too Many Results:

Add More Specific Keywords: Narrow your search with additional, specific terms related to your topic.
Apply More Filters: Refine your results by using filters like publication date, material type, and subject/topic/category.

When You Have Too Few Results:

Reduce Keywords: Limit the number of keywords to broaden your search scope.
Use Less Specific Keywords: General terms can help uncover more results.
Try Different Databases: Different platforms may offer varied results based on their collection scope.
Adjust Boolean Operators: Utilize more "OR" operators between synonyms to include a wider range of terms and fewer "AND" operators to avoid overly restricting your search.

When You Have Too Many Results	When You Have Too Few Results
To reduce the number of results you are getting: Add additional keywords to your search Use more specific keyword to describe the topic Apply Filters: Publication Date Material Type Subject, Topic, Category Filters	To increase the number of results you are getting: Reduce the the number of keywords Use less specific keywords to describe the topic Try a different database Use more OR operators between synonyms Use fewer AND's between keywords

When You Have Too Many Results

When You Have Too Few Results

To reduce the number of results you are getting:

Add additional keywords to your search
Use more specific keyword to describe the topic
Apply Filters:
- Publication Date
- Material Type
- Subject, Topic, Category Filters

To increase the number of results you are getting:

Reduce the the number of keywords
Use less specific keywords to describe the topic
Try a different database
Use more OR operators between synonyms
Use fewer AND's between keywords

Improve Your Search Results:

Revisit Keywords and Parameters: Analyze your initial search results. If necessary, refine your approach by incorporating additional, more precise keywords.
Leverage Author-Supplied Keywords: Review keywords provided by authors in relevant articles to discover new search terms.
Consider Controlled Vocabulary: Use standardized terms from controlled vocabularies (e.g., MeSH in PubMed) to target your search more effectively.

Get the Full-text

Get the Full-Text of Articles

Finding the full text of articles is an essential step in your research journey. Here you will see strategies and tools to access the full-text of the articles you need in you research process.

1) GetIt@CSULB Link

2) Find the pdf linked in the database

3) Request Article(s)

When the full-text of an article isn't available in OneSearch, click 'GET IT' for options. CSU+ is your primary choice for accessing items not held by CSULB. For articles beyond our collection, use the provided link to request them through Interlibrary Loan services, ensuring a straightforward process to obtain the resources you need. Learn more about the interlibrary loan services here.