Directory of Open Access JournalsThe Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 10000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
DOAJ is a membership organisation and membership is available in 3 main categories: Publisher, Ordinary Member and Sponsor. A DOAJ Membership is a clear statement of intent and proves a commitment to quality, peer-reviewed open access. DOAJ is co-author to the Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing (Principles) and DOAJ members are expected to follow these principles as a condition of membership. DOAJ reserves the right to reject applications for membership, or revoke membership if a member or sponsor is found to contravene the Principles. Read more about membership here.
DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer reviewed open access material. To assist libraries and indexers keep their lists up-to-date, we make public a list of journals that have been accepted into or removed from DOAJ but we will not discuss specific details of an application with anyone apart from the applicant. Neither will we discuss individual publishers or applications with members of the public unless we believe that, by doing so, we will be making a positive contribution to the open access community.
DOAJ publishes Information for Publishers on this site to help Publishers adhere to the Principles and to assist them in completing an application. DOAJ also publishes a list of FAQs relevant to all members of the publishing community, particularly libraries and authors. All information on this site is available to both members and non-members.
HighWire Free Online Full-text ArticlesAn independent entity affiliated with Stanford University for over 20 years, HighWire is now a Silicon Valley company with investment provided by private equity technology specialist, Accel – KKR.
Our unique Intelligent Publishing Platform approach is at the heart of our vision to provide innovative, future-proofed digital solutions.
Our aim is to help publishers and their institutional customers to:
Improve online access and discoverability
Enhance engagement and usability
Develop and grow new revenue streams.
IngentaConnectFree access to citations and abstracts to articles from over 20,000 journals in a variety of subject areas. Full text is available for purchase.
PLoSThe Public Library of Science provides free access to the full-text of all of their highly rated journals.
BioMed CentralFree access to the highly rated journals published by BioMed Central.
Free Medical JournalsPromoting free access to medical journals. Provides links to many journals that are available free online, either completely or partially.
National Academies PressThe National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy. The institutions represented by the NAP are unique in that they attract the nation’s leading experts in every field to serve on their award-wining panels and committees. The nation turns to the work of NAP for definitive information on everything from space science to animal nutrition.
NCBI BookshelfA collection of free online biomedical textbooks courtesy of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
PILOTSAn index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
PubMed CentralDigital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Access to PubMed Central (PMC) is free and unrestricted. The currency and age of material varies by journal.
